Need advice on filteration - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 10:58 PM   #16
Elyssa
Planted Member
 
Elyssa's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 222
Default

Hey thanks, for giving me something else to mull over. I didn't even think about about the possibilities of multi bulbs with different durations.

I do plan on hanging the fixture(s). How much overspill are you getting from your light and do you have it enclosed to more contain it?

How often are you replacing your bulbs?

Last edited by Elyssa; 02-19-2013 at 11:11 PM.. Reason: typos
Elyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2013, 11:42 PM   #17
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Lots of spill, but not as much as u would expect considering at full on its 324 watts. Its hung 10 inches over the tank. But the reflectors generally direct the light down

Bulbs should last about 12-18 months before the spectral shift occurs. They produce lots of light, but they dont quite grow plants as well
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:10 AM   #18
Bandit1200
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Bandit1200's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldJedi View Post
I don't believe that any sponge filter is rated for a 125 gallon tank. You must mean 125 gal/hr powerhead flow. Personally, I would be running two power filters like the penguin or aqua clears.
Really? I have this running in my 125.

Bandit1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:54 PM   #19
Elyssa
Planted Member
 
Elyssa's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 222
Default

Bandit1200,
I do love the simplicity of the good ole' -low tech sponge filters! I think I'm just going to keep mine in and running, now that I've thought more about it. Are you running the sponge exclusively?

Last edited by Elyssa; 02-19-2013 at 11:13 PM.. Reason: typo
Elyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 04:58 PM   #20
mott
Wannabe Guru
 
mott's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,977
Default

You could run the sponges by themselves for sure, just leave the hob on while the new sponges seed, two weeks should be fine.
Do you have battery pumps for the outages?
I have one and it worked great during sandy
You could hook them up together so when the power goes out you don't have to do a thing.
You probably know this already just pointing out the obvious lol
__________________

EHEIM Pimp Club Member #250 2217,2026,2236
mott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:14 PM   #21
Elyssa
Planted Member
 
Elyssa's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 222
Default

Hi Mott,
Good to hear. The sponge is already been going for months. No on the battery operated pumps, I actually have a (2) APC Battery back ups for the computer. I just use a 1watt pump haven't had a problem.

Do you run the sponges exclusively?

Last edited by Elyssa; 02-19-2013 at 11:14 PM.. Reason: typo
Elyssa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:50 PM   #22
mott
Wannabe Guru
 
mott's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,977
Default

No, I only have them in case of a power loss but breeders have been using sponge filters exclusively for years!
__________________

EHEIM Pimp Club Member #250 2217,2026,2236
mott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:13 PM   #23
Bandit1200
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Bandit1200's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 598
Default

I am running the pond filter exclusively on the 125 and no issues to date. It's relatively lightly stocked at the moment, but that should change shortly as it's housing a couple dozen marmokrebs at the moment. I already have another one for the other side of the tank when the population increases.
Bandit1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012