Should I? Or should I not? - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 08:27 PM   #16
sonoralinda
Algae Grower
 
sonoralinda's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sonora, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Thurs. I used four bags of fluorite in my 75 gal. tank. The bag said not necessary to prewash but a quick rinse is up to you. Well I didn't want to rinse all the good minerals and stuff out of it so I put it straight in, planted heavy, (every 3" there's a plant) and took hours to fill it. I have emptied it and refilled it 4 times in the past 5 days. Every time it's filled, it's pretty clear then the next day it's like a foggy day where you can't see the house across the street. Today it's not quite as bad. I have an AC110 on it. My advice to anyone would be to rinse, rinse, rinse! I don't know how long this is going to last but it's disheartening! Newbie, sonoralinda
__________________
Sonora, CA

Last edited by sonoralinda; 02-05-2013 at 08:29 PM.. Reason: misselled name
sonoralinda is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 09:18 PM   #17
msawdey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
msawdey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by owens81jw View Post
I SAW SOMEONE ON this forum said they using an old pillowcase n ran that thru water for 15mins
that may have been me :-)..... especially wash if you have the sand... when you put it into the tank, you will understand why
__________________
msawdey
-Just another day in paradise-
msawdey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 04:25 AM   #18
altiuscitius
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern BC, Canada
Posts: 47
Default

I used 3 bags of fluorite black sand in a 25gallon. I lightly rinsed the bottom two bags, and I rinsed the hell out of the 3rd bag and used it to cap the mildly washed stuff.

The tank still got cloudy when filling up, but settled in a day, and I have no issues a year and 2 major rescapes later. When my cories dig during feeding time they stir up a slight grey plume of dust that dissipates quickly.

The general consensus from all of my reading was wash it all, but it wont get 100% clear. The water pressure from the hose or whatever will knock some particles off of the clay pieces and make the water cloudy. You just want to get the water running off from your bucket to 85% clear and then move on.
altiuscitius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2013, 04:35 PM   #19
xiaoxiy
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 172
Default

Man, this thread got lost and I couldn't find it.

I washed mine in a bucket in half bag batches.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Low_t Tom View Post
Don't wash it, lightly rinse it once and put it in the tank (if you wash it you are washing all the things you want down the drain, and should just use standard gravel instead). Fill tank VERY slowly! Make sure you have a thin gravel cap on top of it to allow the fish to do their thing without disturbing the stuff.
I don't think that's true. We use fluorite because it has a high CEC, or cation exchange capacity. Not because there's anything special in the fluorite, although I do concede that there are some trace minerals and metals (iron and such).
xiaoxiy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2013, 06:37 PM   #20
Option
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (13/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf19 View Post
Simple question related to this topic...

Do I need to 'cycle' black fluorite prior to planting, or can I begin planting after rinsing and having the substrate in the tank?
You can plant right away, no problem. Cycling is to prep for the fish, shrimp, or any other fauna you intend on adding to the tank....that are all sensitive to the nitrogen cycle status.

As for rinsing flourite...I only rinse lightly once or twice. There is no point in vigoursly washing it over and over since the substrate is so fine as it is that it will cloud your water no matter what on the first addition of water. I have used flourite the most out of all substrates (btw it's the best out there IMO) and it always clouds the water initially after the first add no matter how much I rinse it.
__________________
Pearling.....it's way overrated.
Option is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012