Uprooting a large plant from an aquarium
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 03:44 PM   #1
svkr2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: india
Posts: 99
Default

Uprooting a large plant from an aquarium


Hi all,
Has anyone tried uprooting a large plant with lots of roots and then replace it with another set of plants? How would anyone manage to keep the water clean eventhough a large chunk of substrate is disturbed by doing this?
I'm a newbie and dont know much abt uprooting or re-planting techniques.
svkr2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2013, 03:49 PM   #2
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,262
Default

For some plants that have extensive root structures (Amazon Swords, Cryptocoryne species, etc), I like to turn off the filter before I start uprooting them. That way, the disturbed substrate is not blown all around the aquarium.

Unfortunately, it is next to impossible to keep the water crystal clear when uprooting a large number of plants and/or plants with extensive root systems.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:06 PM   #3
ThatGuyWithTheFish
perugiae
 
ThatGuyWithTheFish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,347
Default

Just do it, it'll make a mess but it settles quickly.
__________________

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"


My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"


RAOK Club #69
ThatGuyWithTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:44 PM   #4
beginragnarok
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA, Earth
Posts: 233
Default

If you can, get someone to help you. Do a water change while uprooting.

While you do the uprooting (mess making) have your helper carefully vacuum out the debris. Don't bother to try this by yourself, it will end up in a wet floor or livestock in your water change tubing.

-Zach
__________________
20L journal My 3 gallon egg
Emersed Tub Club meber #15
beginragnarok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:36 PM   #5
pirayaman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ARDMORE PA
Posts: 459
Default

you can take a knife and carefully cut around the plant base about 1/2 away from stem.

this will still leave a root base but decrease the soil disturbance dramaticly
pirayaman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:55 PM   #6
ADJAquariums
Wannabe Guru
 
ADJAquariums's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 1,422
Default

I actually cut the roots, leave about 3/4-1 inch of roots and that will be more than enough for the plant to get going again in the new spot, i've done this several times with Amazon swords and i've never had a problem.
__________________

Then I saw it. I saw a mom who would die for her son. A man who would kill for his wife. A boy, angry and alone. Laid out in front of him, the bad path. I saw it. And the path was a circle. Round and round. So I changed it.
-Joe (Looper 2012)
ADJAquariums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:38 AM   #7
svkr2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: india
Posts: 99
Default

Hi, thank you all for the ideas.
svkr2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:42 AM   #8
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Default

I was curious about this as well....although I have a dirt base with PFS cap.....I am worried the dirt will get up into the tank and create an even bigger mess!
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 06:09 AM   #9
vqfive
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Stockton,Ca
Posts: 36
Default

Do it slowly. I just had to pull up 2 huge Ozelot Sword plants. Pull it slowly shake as you go so let the substrat fall. dig your fingers down and pull roots toward your hand while still pulling slowly shaking as you go to let substrat fall and not get pulled up with roots. May have to break some roots then pull them up singly after whole plant is out. Made some cloudyness but to bad.
vqfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:40 AM   #10
mfurufuru
Planted Member
 
mfurufuru's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: oahu
Posts: 243
Default Re: Uprooting a large plant from an aquarium

If you leave the roots in the substrate when you cut it won't the roots rot and foul the water?
mfurufuru is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:59 PM   #11
james0816
Planted Tank Guru
 
james0816's Avatar
 
PTrader: (61/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 2,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beginragnarok View Post
If you can, get someone to help you. Do a water change while uprooting.

While you do the uprooting (mess making) have your helper carefully vacuum out the debris. Don't bother to try this by yourself, it will end up in a wet floor or livestock in your water change tubing.

-Zach
This is basically what I do (by myself though ) and it depends on the type of substrate you have as well. When I have to thin the crypts, it's a perfect time to do a gravel vac as well. Will greatly reduce your TDS in the process.
james0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 01:38 PM   #12
Tvadna
Planted Member
 
Tvadna's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 178
Default

I just pulled out all of my crypts that were over grown in a 30 long. (150+) When I pulled one plant, the entire substrate came up from the glass bottom in what i could describe as a rug.

There is no clean and easy way to do this. Just get after it. Crypts have strong roots so a slow pull with light tugging gets most of the roots out with the plant. I'm not in favor of cutting and leaving a mat of roots to rot into the substrate. (You're just making more problems down the road)

Keep the filter off, let everything settle. Then do a large water change to suck up all of the sediment before turning the filter back on.
Tvadna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 02:46 PM   #13
svkr2k
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: india
Posts: 99
Default

I'm assuming that the fishes should not be in the tank when we are uprooting a plant(s), right? It would be good to re-introduce the fish once the dust settles or after a mini-cycling ?
svkr2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 03:10 PM   #14
pirayaman
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ARDMORE PA
Posts: 459
Default

i dont think leaving roots in substrate after cutting is gonna be some huge problem with your water. leaving the roots would kinda fertilize the substrate while decomposing
pirayaman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 03:52 PM   #15
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default Re: Uprooting a large plant from an aquarium

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfer_d View Post
I was curious about this as well....although I have a dirt base with PFS cap.....I am worried the dirt will get up into the tank and create an even bigger mess!
Have some extra PFS handy to replace the cap as you pull the roots. I would cut the roots about an inch or two from the base of the plant as I pull in order to minimize the mess and area of cap that needs to be replaced.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012