Are root tabs needed?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 02:16 AM   #1
austinramirez
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: claremont,ca
Posts: 93
Default

Are root tabs needed?


I was wondering if I could get some input on whether or not to use root tabs. I plan on having dwarf sag in pool filter sand while dosing csm+b, KNO3, and KH2PO4. Will I need root tabs or will dosing into the water column be enough?
__________________
Eheim Pimp #447
austinramirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2013, 02:22 AM   #2
discuspaul
Planted Tank Guru
 
discuspaul's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,092
Default

It may be enough, but it's a little 'iffy' to achieve the best growth. Don't know if you have other rooted plants besides the Sags, but in PFS I believe your plants would do better with a few root tabs.
discuspaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:25 AM   #3
austinramirez
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: claremont,ca
Posts: 93
Default

my other plants will be anubias, java fern, and riccia so I am not worried about those.

I have used root tabs before, but had a large algal bloom and have been wary ever since. Maybe it was a bad batch of tabs
__________________
Eheim Pimp #447
austinramirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012