Is this Diatoms?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 03:43 AM   #1
notsogreenthumb
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ambler, PA
Posts: 94
Default

Is this Diatoms?


New 36g BF tank, big bush of what I think is a type of watersprite. That's where this brown, fuzz like algae started. Now there are pieces of it on my grass and mosses. It looks like what is described as diatoms, but I am not sure.
Lighting: AquaticLife 30'' 2xT5HO 24W, Aqueon T5NO 2x30'' 18W 6700k
CO2: Fluval 88g kit

Currently giving the tank almost 12 hours of light a day which is probably WAY too much, but I was trying to get a jump on my grass carpet. Maybe it backfired? This is the only real algae issue, my panda garras seem to be cleaning most of the other stuff away.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Brown Webs.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	82250  

notsogreenthumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2013, 03:49 AM   #2
msawdey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
msawdey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 984
Default

i call backfired... you only need 8.. even with the carpet.. to fill in the carpet, its important that you plant it spread out and use co2
__________________
msawdey
-Just another day in paradise-
msawdey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:28 AM   #3
sp33drhno
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
sp33drhno's Avatar
 
PTrader: (45/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 362
Default

That looks like rhizoclonium.
__________________
sp33drhno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:52 AM   #4
notsogreenthumb
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ambler, PA
Posts: 94
Default

Did a little more digging, looks like there was another thread and I believe it to be brown diatom Synedra. There was no viable solution offered however.
notsogreenthumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:55 PM   #5
micheljq
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
micheljq's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 490
Default

Hello,

Remove manually on a regular basis. Regular water changes helps against algae too.

What is your fertilizer routine if any? Is this a new tank?

Michel.
__________________
Newbie with plants, Quebec.
micheljq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
notsogreenthumb
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ambler, PA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micheljq View Post
Hello,

Remove manually on a regular basis. Regular water changes helps against algae too.

What is your fertilizer routine if any? Is this a new tank?

Michel.
This is a new tank, substrate is flora max, i have burried some root tabs in there as well.
notsogreenthumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:01 PM   #7
fishwater
Planted Member
 
fishwater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 165
Default

If its a new tank, then time will be your ally for diatoms. Meaning give it some time to fully cycle and the diatoms will clear. Cutting back on your photoperiod wont hurt and in fact should help. Once your tank fully cycles throw in a few otocinclus and your diatom problem should be solved. If you can't or dont want to add otos, you can manually remove most diatoms but its a pita.
__________________
Eheim Pimp #533
46g
fishwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:39 PM   #8
notsogreenthumb
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ambler, PA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishwater View Post
If its a new tank, then time will be your ally for diatoms. Meaning give it some time to fully cycle and the diatoms will clear. Cutting back on your photoperiod wont hurt and in fact should help. Once your tank fully cycles throw in a few otocinclus and your diatom problem should be solved. If you can't or dont want to add otos, you can manually remove most diatoms but its a pita.
I am not against otos but already have some panda garras, will they eat it?
notsogreenthumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:52 PM   #9
fishwater
Planted Member
 
fishwater's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 165
Default

I do know that garra eat algae as well as detritus. But I can't say for sure whether they eat diatoms or not. Certainly another forum member has some experience with these fish, try posting in the fish section to see what others have to say about garras and diatoms. Good luck.
__________________
Eheim Pimp #533
46g
fishwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:42 AM   #10
mentolis
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: colombia
Posts: 8
Default

hi. is this the same algae that u had or still have. ithis is my new tank and had it about a week and a half. and just today i saw this weird algae on my sponge filter and abit on few plants. what was your solution. thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4597.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	80.3 KB
ID:	90170  

mentolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012