Beware Shrimp Owners - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 10:07 AM   #16
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (171/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jared992 View Post
I did not add the substrate to an established tank. I started the tank with the substrate. My PH out of the tap is 6.3.
And the story takes a turn... Read up on how to keep dwarf shrimp and inverts in general. Water conditions are paramount and pristine is the name of the game. In failing to do so, you are just wasting time, money and killing otherwise happy and healthy souls.

We all want to rush into setting up a tank and one may get away with accerating a cycle in larger tanks but hardly is the case for nanos
__________________
The Aquatic Plant Society Curator of the NY/NJ/CT LFS & CO2 Directory
Namaste ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
acitydweller is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2013, 11:35 AM   #17
azjenny
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
azjenny's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Posts: 650
Default

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=210898

Guys, it seems like everyone is jumping all over this guy. Nowhere did he say he that he JUST started this tank, he just said that when he started it, it was started with this substrate.
Check out the link above, I think he thought we would remember that he was talking about this thread, I did.
It does say that the tank was fully cycled.
azjenny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2013, 04:24 PM   #18
Aquatic Delight
H is for Hillstream
 
Aquatic Delight's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 1,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azjenny View Post
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=210898

Guys, it seems like everyone is jumping all over this guy. Nowhere did he say he that he JUST started this tank, he just said that when he started it, it was started with this substrate.
Check out the link above, I think he thought we would remember that he was talking about this thread, I did.
It does say that the tank was fully cycled.
i missed that whole thread...

i haven't seen the temp mentioned....does anyone what the tank temp is?

also I am assuming the filter media is new?
__________________
Will
________________________________

Hillstream/Boreno Loach Refuge
my 29g story
Aquatic Delight is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 05:38 AM   #19
Koro-chan
Algae Grower
 
Koro-chan's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 35
Default

I live in Federal way and we are apart of the King county municipal water system. My tap measures at 6.8 ph, 1 kh, 2gh. My tank is a consistent 6.6 ph from CO2 and bog wood. My CRS are very happy.
Koro-chan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 06:50 AM   #20
binbin9
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 447
Default

koro, I live in kent and my tap comes out about 7.4 but it's definitely soft. 6.8 out of the tap save you a heck of a lot of money!
binbin9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 06:51 AM   #21
binbin9
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (22/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 447
Default

Rob, I've had the issue with Eco complete too. This stuff is sooooo not inert. I've had to mix it with shrimp sand and even a bit of amazonia to bring it to more the level I wanted it.
binbin9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 06:29 AM   #22
jared992
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Forest Park, WA
Posts: 27
Default

The tank was fully cycled. It had been running for over four months. I was not paying attention to the ph in that specific tank because I had always used water from my RO/DI system which gave me a good ph. When my shrimp started dying off in the tank withe the floramax substrate, I decided to check the ph and found it was through the roof. I then proceeded to isolate the variables by checking the substrate in a small container by itself. Within 30 seconds, the ph raised over 1 on ph scale. Haha,ammonia and nitrite levels were at 0 for those who think the tank was not cycled ( I am not that big of a dummy). I called Carib Sea and the manager of sales told me that a few bags had been contaminated from a seam of lime stone that ran above the quarry where they collect the midnight black Floramax material. In the end I got a refund and free bag of eco complete.

Last edited by jared992; 02-05-2013 at 06:46 AM.. Reason: grammar
jared992 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 06:38 AM   #23
jared992
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Forest Park, WA
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
And the story takes a turn... Read up on how to keep dwarf shrimp and inverts in general. Water conditions are paramount and pristine is the name of the game. In failing to do so, you are just wasting time, money and killing otherwise happy and healthy souls.

We all want to rush into setting up a tank and one may get away with accerating a cycle in larger tanks but hardly is the case for nanos
I am not sure where you are collecting that I rushed into the tank...The tank was fully cycled and with an appropriate amount of film built on everything. I fully understand the importance of water parameters, hence my other successful shrimp tank. My water out of my Ro/Di unit comes out at 6.2-6.3, but settles at around 6.6-6.7 after being exposed to air for awhile. It was merely the floramax substrate that messed with the tank parameters.

Last edited by jared992; 02-14-2013 at 12:17 AM.. Reason: .
jared992 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 08:23 PM   #24
jlieu
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BG, KY
Posts: 105
Default

Floramax is NOT inert...at least not initially per Caribsea's customer service.

Had similar issues, no interest in help, just excuses...but here are two responses received.

Rick Greenfield (I assume this may be the President, Richard Greenfield)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Greenfield
Sorry to hear about the trouble. How long has this aquarium been set up and what is the pH? Sometimes there is an initial and temporary elevation of pH with volcanic materials that burns off after a few weeks. Do you use R/O water? Rick

Tony Wagner, Director of Marketing, was my first contact...though he was pretty much useless. Asked for 'part numbers'.
jlieu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 09:13 PM   #25
jared992
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Forest Park, WA
Posts: 27
Default Carib Sea

Give the company a call and asked to talk to Jud McCracken. He knew exactly what I was talking about and took care of me..
jared992 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012