Anybody got a handle on a good interval timer?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 04:03 PM   #1
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default

Anybody got a handle on a good interval timer?


When I was doing reef I had a Neptune controller that had a "feed" button on it that stopped all the pumps for a short period to let the food float around a bit.

I would really like that function again. Anybody point me towards something like that? A kit even?

TIA!
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2012, 04:36 PM   #2
nokturnalkid
Wannabe Guru
 
nokturnalkid's Avatar
 
PTrader: (81/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HI, but Pueblo, CO for now
Posts: 1,233
Default

If you don't mind a regular timer, the intermatic digital timers have 1 min intervals and has a battery backup.
__________________
Schuber Wright 6 gal
Mr. Aqua 11.4 g...coming soon
30gal Journal - RIP
nokturnalkid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 04:43 PM   #3
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default

My idea is that I can push a button and have the unit stop the pump for a set time, like 15 minutes, to allow the fish to feed. Then turn back on automatically. I have to do it manually now and once or twice I managed to forget to turn the pumps back on. I guess you can figure out the rest :-(

I don't want to buy a $200 controller unit that does 500 other things I'll never need, just for this convenience, ya know?

Thanks for the idea though...I am googling like a champ!

Cheers
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 04:45 PM   #4
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default

This - This is EXACTLY what I'm looking for!

http://www.theprojectasylum.com/elec...riumtimer.html

I will email him and see what happens.
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 07:43 AM   #5
lochaber
Wannabe Guru
 
lochaber's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,646
Default

Failing that, maybe hooking everything up to one of those powerstrips that have an on/off switch.

You'd have to turn it on again, so it's not quite as nice...
er, nevermind- I just reread your post and realized this is pretty much the problem...

maybe find one of those light/shower/fan timers that they use in public bathrooms and such, and try to flip it so it turns something off instead of on? (I haven't seen the innards of these, so I don't know, but most seem to be mechanical timers connected to a switch)
lochaber is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 09:18 AM   #6
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8,721
Default

The BOM as well as his circuit diagram appears quite simple to do; you could probably order the components and then test on a (solderless) protoboard first before going a more expensive route (PCB, etc).

Or, you could just solder onto a plain old protoboard and put the whole contraption into a project box.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 10:10 PM   #7
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default

BOM? Sorry... I don't know what BOM means...
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 12:13 AM   #8
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m00se View Post
BOM? Sorry... I don't know what BOM means...
Bill of Materials (i.e. a list of parts that you will require to build the particular project)
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 08:22 AM   #9
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default

Ah so! Thank you :-)
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 04:49 PM   #10
csf
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA.
Posts: 180
Default

Tell me about it. Looking at a controller that simply allows for dimmable LEDs via a 0-10V output.

Neptune will do it - but not for less than $300.

I could enjoy using the web interfaces of the neptune, and I have a dosing pump and a pH controller - but it's $500 for the full kit. I might pass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m00se View Post
My idea is that I can push a button and have the unit stop the pump for a set time, like 15 minutes, to allow the fish to feed. Then turn back on automatically. I have to do it manually now and once or twice I managed to forget to turn the pumps back on. I guess you can figure out the rest :-(

I don't want to buy a $200 controller unit that does 500 other things I'll never need, just for this convenience, ya know?

Thanks for the idea though...I am googling like a champ!

Cheers
csf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 05:49 PM   #11
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,075
Default

Toggle switch wired in on the ac power line?
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 06:34 PM   #12
Wasserpest
Are these real?
 
Wasserpest's Avatar
 
PTrader: (163/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 14,859
Default

There are delay timer kits available that you can re-use for this purpose.

Here is one example: http://www.electronickits.com/kit/co...canuk249M2.htm

I ordered a few similar ones from a different place some years ago, I remember they were less than $10 a pop though.

You can connect these to a relay, which in turn will switch off and on things, like for example a power strip. You need to read up to make sure they will work for this purpose, as there are variations of them.
Wasserpest is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 07:08 PM   #13
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: Anybody got a handle on a good interval timer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrypticLifeStyle View Post
Toggle switch wired in on the ac power line?
LOL... Sorry, had to laugh here. The POINT is that I forget to turn the pumps back on. Do you feel that would be more apt to remember a toggle switch?

m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2013, 07:08 PM   #14
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: Anybody got a handle on a good interval timer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasserpest View Post
There are delay timer kits available that you can re-use for this purpose.

Here is one example: http://www.electronickits.com/kit/co...canuk249M2.htm

I ordered a few similar ones from a different place some years ago, I remember they were less than $10 a pop though.

You can connect these to a relay, which in turn will switch off and on things, like for example a power strip. You need to read up to make sure they will work for this purpose, as there are variations of them.
Interesting... Let me check these out. Thanks!
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012