Fluval 406 with awful flow... - Page 5
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 08:18 PM   #61
sundragon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sundragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delexboarfoot View Post
Err. No. The Fluval tubes that I am using are as supplied with the 406, not conventional filter tubing but the ribbed stuff. They are a good but looser fit than the Ehiem tubing as provided by Ehiem. Using the tube clip as provided by Ehiem I am unable to pull them off.

I am not sure that I should recommend this as a course of action as yet as it is early days and problems may still develop.

From one of your earlier posts I see that you do not use the Fluval tubing as it "reduces flow by design". (I feel you my be right).

I would double check your hose sizes if this is likely to cause you an issue.
Sorry, my bad - I'm using 5/8" clear aquarium tubing ~16-17mm equivalent.

I kept the Fluval tubing for the intake because it was an easy fix and disappears on the black background. I used to use the clear tubing with the lily intake till I broke it. The corrugated Fluval tubing is a crap magnet - it's flexible, and necessary if you use their intake plumbing but otherwise not optimal, IMO - smooth tubing is aqua dynamic.
__________________
sundragon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 05:51 PM   #62
sundragon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sundragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 515
Default

Just an update.

I serviced the filter today, along with my 50% water change.

A lot of debris in the bottom of the filter. This is a good thing, I want it to capture this stuff.

I noticed something when putting it back together, there isn't really a path for the water to go from the long sponges to the bio sponge at the bottom of the stack. There is a plastic wall that rises from the floor to keep everything stacked but no clear path to allow the water to enter the bio sponge and move up the column of baskets.

Can someone check this on their 405/406? I may have missed holes or something but I think this is why there is bypass, the water just goes where there's least resistance.

I didn't heat and bend the impeller cover back, I just cleaned it - I also cleaned the place it sits in the filter head. It was a little wobbly, but I wanna see how well this works...

2:00 minutes to fill a 5 gallon bucket before cleaning
1:50 seconds to fill a 5 gallon bucket after cleaning

Previously I had: 1:41 seconds - 178 GPH.

I hypothesize the impeller cover warping has something to do with this.

Well - If I can't DIY fix the issues, I'm going to put this on CL and sell it and replace it as soon as I can afford another brand that performs better.
__________________
sundragon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 09:01 PM   #63
BoxxerBoyDrew
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Waco,Tx
Posts: 704
Default

Hey Guys,

I just saw and read threw this thread, and I am very surprised to hear about the problems with the 406 filters! I have 1-204 and 2-205, and they are awesome!!! Very quiet, strong flow, easy to clean, so no complaints here!

One thing I see different between the 204/205 and the 406 is the impeller cover! The cover on the ones I have are very hard clear acrylic, and they snap on both sides of the cover. On the first sponges (the tall ones in the plastic tray) the directions show to leave 1 side of the sponges sticking up above the tray. If I remember correctly it is the rear set. That is what keeps the water from bypassing them, because when I leave them sticking up like the directions say, when I go to clean the filter the next month the sponges are smashed down where they have been pressed down by the motor housing. I am not sure if the 406 is designed the same way, so take this with a grain of salt!

I am not trying to start anything here at all, but just trying to see if I can help! I really do hope Fluval isn't going cheap on us, since I have had my 204 for 7+ years now and truly love it! All I have ever had to do other than clean it was to replace the impeller last year, and I replace the tall sponges once a year too! That is it! I would 4 sure email or call Fluval and try to figure out a fix to your solution!!! Most manufactures I have dealt with are more than happy to get things worked out with their customers, because in this day and age a unhappy customer can spread the word to A LOT of people and quickly too!

So anyway BEST OF LUCK in getting this thing fixed!
Drew
BoxxerBoyDrew is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 09:20 PM   #64
sundragon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sundragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 515
Default Re: Fluval 406 with awful flow...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoxxerBoyDrew View Post
Hey Guys,

I just saw and read threw this thread, and I am very surprised to hear about the problems with the 406 filters! I have 1-204 and 2-205, and they are awesome!!! Very quiet, strong flow, easy to clean, so no complaints here!

So anyway BEST OF LUCK in getting this thing fixed!
Drew
Hey Drew,

Thanks for the suggestions. I just did the trick with the sponges when I serviced it this time. Let's see how that works between this service and the next one.

Does the impeller cover for the 20x series work with the 406?

Have you taken a look at the bottom of the canister to see if there's a channel for water to flow? It may be different on the 10x/20x series of filters.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
sundragon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 04:49 PM   #65
Westone
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central NC
Posts: 13
Default

Sundragon, how did this turn out in the end? I just bought and installed a 406, and I am not happy with it. The flow is fine, but there seems to be a lot of bypass. Its been running on my 90g for 4 days, and it is not clearing large particles from the water. I'm about to take it apart and see if there is any evidence of it filtering anything out, or anything installed incorrectly leading to bypass.
Westone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 05:02 PM   #66
sundragon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sundragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 515
Default Fluval 406 with awful flow...

It's a POS. Never buying another Fluval product. I had their Aquaclear 50 HOB, which was wonderful and i thought the 406 would be good. The second hand Eheim I had bought broke last minute and I pretty much bought the Fluval on a whim. It is 1/2 the price I paid for it on Amazon fwiw. I've had to replace the main valve unit when it broke as I was trying to remove the tubes to swap the CO2 diffuser - if you're using injected CO2 with an inline diffuser, purchase another valve in case. I had to Fedex mine from Amazon (great service though).

Were I you, I would return it and purchase another brand. I'm considering something more powerful as this can't even keep the carpet clean of detritus the day I do a 50% water change and serviced the filter. It's really absurd.

I would get an Eheim or if you really like Fluval, the fx-6 (which is overkill for my 57G)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
sundragon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 08:32 PM   #67
Bsqrd
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sask, Canada
Posts: 17
Default

Just a quick idea. Is it possible to put the Fluval top (motor unit) on backwards? On my Fluval the is some writing on the bottom portion that contains the sponges etc, and this writing continues on the top. That is how I know I have them together correctly but I have never tried to reverse the top. Perhaps you have reversed them and impeller is not over the opening in top tray? Flow would be greatly affected.
Bsqrd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 08:39 PM   #68
sundragon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sundragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 515
Default

Haha, thanks, but it's on properly. The writing is visible. I don't even think one can attach it reverse. The impeller cover is probably not sealing but the overall design is flawed as water doesn't have a channel from intake to output like the Eheim Classic and FX which force the water through all the media. Judging by the detritus pattern on the inside, a good amount bypasses the media stack.
Lesson learned



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
sundragon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 08:42 PM   #69
mthomas356
Algae Grower
 
mthomas356's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sundragon View Post
Haha, thanks, but it's on properly. The writing is visible. I don't even think one can attach it reverse. The impeller cover is probably not sealing but the overall design is flawed as water doesn't have a channel from intake to output like the Eheim Classic and FX which force the water through all the media. Judging by the detritus pattern on the inside, a good amount bypasses the media stack.
Lesson learned



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have had a 305, 406 and recently added a fx6 and have had great success with all. The design is definitely not flawed.
__________________
Matt
mthomas356 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 08:52 PM   #70
sundragon
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
sundragon's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 515
Default Fluval 406 with awful flow...

Respectfully, the fx is totally different from the 06 series in ways that make it superior.

I'm glad you've had a great experience, I've obviously made an effort by this string to make the filter work. If someone asks me after reading all of the above, I'm going to give my experience and opinion


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
sundragon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2015, 10:08 PM   #71
Westone
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central NC
Posts: 13
Default

I have to agree. I'm glad many people have had a good experience with the 406. I read many positive reviews or I would not have bought one myself. I'm no engineer, but the design seems like a great one. Unfortunately, it's not cleaning the water in my tank. The flow is great, but after 5 days now there are still copious amounts of visible particles in the water.

I talked to the store where I bought mine today, and I'm returning it as soon as I get my Magnum back in service.
Westone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Your Location. As precise as you feel comfortable with.
Security Question
While balancing on a piece of wood, two inches by four inches known as a 2x4, John and his friend Sally both spotted a dalmatian inside of a truck with sirens. The animal with John and Sally is a _ _ _?
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012