When is new filter seeded
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
pastert33
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 115
Default

When is new filter seeded


I had a AC 50 running on my 29G red cherry tank. Well I came home and it was running dry I went back out and picked up a AC 70. Both have been running on the 29G for about 3 or 4 weeks now. I don't wanna pull out the 50 too soon. As far as what's running in the AC's. The AC50 has 2 sponges and the ceramic rings. The AC70 has 2 sponges and seachem matrix(been in there for approx. 3 days) in it. Both have a prefilter on the intake.



So guys, when do I know that the AC70 is seeded?
pastert33 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
cah925
Fear the Swamp!
 
cah925's Avatar
 
PTrader: (173/100%)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 2,504
Default

3-4 weeks sounds pretty good. You could always move the ceramic rings from the old 50 to the new 70 when you remove the 50.
cah925 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 06:14 PM   #3
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cah925 View Post
3-4 weeks sounds pretty good. You could always move the ceramic rings from the old 50 to the new 70 when you remove the 50.
Yup - normally about a month of running in an established tank. You could also cut the bags and put half established ceramic rings and half unestablished seachem in both filters to speed the seeding process.
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 05:58 AM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 8,320
Default

You could remove the media from the 50 a little at a time, perhaps 25% of it each week for a month.

However many fish you have, all the bacteria in the tank and both filters is taking care of the waste.
There is still bacteria living and doing its job in the filter you want to remove.
When you remove that bacteria the remaining bacteria in tank and the new filter must take over. The slower you remove the bacteria (the cycled but old filter) the less chance of an ammonia spike.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012