ph probe placement
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 01:53 PM   #1
bababooey
Algae Grower
 
bababooey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 141
Default

ph probe placement


Iím a little confused about the placement of ph probes to monitor ph changes with the addition of CO2. Are you suppose to put it inline? Inside co2 reactor? Inside the tank? Or somewhere else that Iím missing? If you put it inside the tank, how do you prevent otos and other fish from messing with it?
bababooey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 03:57 PM   #2
Landau
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 89
Default

You want the probe in the tank some distance from the CO2 reactor. That way it is reading more or less what the average tank PH is.

If it was inside the reactor, when the CO2 switched on the high Concentration of CO2 in the reactor would make the reading very low. Like suddenly jumping from 7 to 4 and then back to 7 when the CO2 switched off.

If you were going to put it inline with the reactor - put it before the reactor. That way you'll get the tank PH, not the reactor PH.

And my Otos don't seem to mess with my probes. I give the probes a a good rinsing every 4 months or so and compare the meter reading to my test kit every couple of weeks.
__________________
Landau

29G - ReefKeeper Lite Controller - Pressurized CO2 - Hydor Inline heater - Fluval 205 - Fluval Pimp #18
Landau is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 12:29 AM   #3
bababooey
Algae Grower
 
bababooey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 141
Default

Thanks for the info. I have a spot next to my intake that I can set up the probe.
bababooey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012