Fishroom and Air question
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > DIY


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 02:44 AM   #1
Contrl
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 63
Default

Fishroom and Air question


ok here is my dilema, I have a fishroom and one wall has 18 15 gallon tanks in racks on it each rack of 6 tanks has it's own sump, and some of my tanks have sponge filters, some have undergravels, and one rack has a fluidized bed.

For the tanks with air driven extras, would it make sense to plumb up an air supply that could be later driven with a linear piston pump? I currently have a Danner AP-8 running one rack with leftover outlets on it. I just do not like the octopus of airlines, even if I do have a whole roll of the stuff.

Mostly, would it be counterproductive to reroute the 4 outlets of this pump, and/or the 2 outlets of my old supreme dynamaster pump, into one pvc run with drops for each tank? would the outlets fight each other and actually give me less air than I have now? I do have the option of a HUGE blower, a 1/2 horse GAST regenerative blower that I bought on a silly whim quite a few years ago, then decided not to use as it would suck a large amount of power. There are other tanks in the room, and I'd like to mattenfilter some of them eventually, but right now it's just the asthetics of the airlines that bother me more than anything.
Contrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2013, 02:54 AM   #2
GraphicGr8s
Banned
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,504
Default

Personally until I started running more tanks with air I'd leave it alone. You could get some wire loom and neaten it up like you would a wiring harness. Or staple it down the back leg of your racks. Use staple for wire.

Dynanaster pump? Where do you get the leathers for it anymore? Bad leathers and the noise made me quit using mine.
__________________
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Life is simple…People complicate it
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:28 AM   #3
Contrl
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 63
Default

I had 3 packages of leathers, don't know what I'll do once they're gone. it'll be awhile, the nois on the other hand.....
Contrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 12:54 PM   #4
Wicket_lfe
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island and Queens
Posts: 860
Send a message via AIM to Wicket_lfe
Default

Could we get a pic of the room?

;-)
Wicket_lfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:44 AM   #5
Contrl
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 63
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	20130204_211049.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	81626

Click image for larger version

Name:	20130204_211158.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	81634

It's still a work in progress, but some just needs tidying.
Contrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:05 AM   #6
GraphicGr8s
Banned
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,504
Default

Suuuuwwweeeeeetttttt
__________________
Quote me as saying I was misquoted.
Once you get rid of integrity the rest is a piece of cake.
Life is simple…People complicate it
Here's to our wives and sweethearts - may they never meet.
If you agreed with me we'd both be right.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:26 AM   #7
LyzzaRyzz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
LyzzaRyzz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 465
Default

Wow! I don't have any advice for you on the air pumps, but I know how annoying the untidy "octopus" look can get! I duct tape mine down.
And your fish room looks awesome!!!!
__________________
50g, 45g, 15g, 10g, 2x2.5g, 2g bowl

LyzzaRyzz's Tanks and More! - http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=226122
LyzzaRyzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:09 AM   #8
Contrl
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 63
Default

thanks the wireties, and duct tape ideas sound good for now....I really think the pumps i've got, properly configured, will work for me for now.

I'm resisting gettign the room tooo full, it makes for a nice smoke free place when the wife's smokin. Humidity stays below 50 as long as it's cold enough to make the heat run.. In summmer I'll probably need a dehumidifier when it's pleasant out, and the air will suck out the moisture when its really hot.
Contrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:11 AM   #9
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,124
Default

I would start by neatening up what you have.
Perhaps some ceiling hooks to get the stuff off the floor.

You could probably get an expert to suggest how to best run the PVC main and a few simple branches, then a valve for each tank.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012