d2mini's 4g Planted Betta Tank - Page 3
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 12:05 AM   #31
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

Thanks, Green!

I must say this is stressing me out! lol
I did a water change today, about 75% and I had plants floating. Those little things need to take hold soon!
The good news is the tank looks pretty clear.
And I added a ball valve to the output to cut down on the flow.

Pic from Day 2...

d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2013, 01:08 AM   #32
vvDO
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
vvDO's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Richmond, CA
Posts: 388
Default

Keep lowering that ammonia, better the plants float than melt. What are planning for CO2 and ferts?
__________________
Mr. Aqua 30cm cube journal
20L high tech journal
Fluval EDGE slightly modded, low tech
3+ gallon (40 x 16 x 20.5 cm) aquatic soil, low-tech
Fluval spec V (sitting in a box)
vvDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:29 AM   #33
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

Right now I'm dosing Seachem Flourish Excel.
Any suggestions for fertilizer?
Ammonia is at zero.
d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 02:59 AM   #34
vvDO
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
vvDO's Avatar
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Richmond, CA
Posts: 388
Default

I'm currently using rootmedic, can't comment on how it's working for me yet since I just started my 20L, however once I run out I will probably go with dry ferts(way cheaper and more control). I have and still use excel in my nano's with flourish comprehensive and have had no major problems except when I have to neglect W/C's due to work or just being away.
__________________
Mr. Aqua 30cm cube journal
20L high tech journal
Fluval EDGE slightly modded, low tech
3+ gallon (40 x 16 x 20.5 cm) aquatic soil, low-tech
Fluval spec V (sitting in a box)
vvDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:54 AM   #35
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default

Learning to do water changes without uprooting plants is a skill that will come in handy! You'll get the hang of it!
orchidman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:43 AM   #36
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default d2mini's 4g Planted Betta Tank

The best thing for water changes is a ziplock freezer bag with a tiny bit of air inside. Float it on top of the water and aim your water change water on top of it.
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:47 AM   #37
orchidman
Planted Tank Guru
 
orchidman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,421
Default d2mini's 4g Planted Betta Tank

I usually just use my hand to pour on to. Or, in my tank that's similar to this, I just pour the water into the filter compartment and it doesn't disrupt the substrate or plants.
orchidman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:14 AM   #38
chubky
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 39
Default

I've siphoned water from a bucket with some spare airline tubing I have laying around into one of my tanks. It's a lot slower but it doesn't stir up the substrate or uproot anything either. You can have more tubes siphoning from the bucket too if you want. It's something that's worked for me, but it really does take patience
chubky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 02:14 PM   #39
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

Thanks for the tips!
Mainly i was slowly pouring onto the big rock but towards the end i got a little impatient. lol
d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:41 PM   #40
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,739
Default

What I usually do is a magnet cleaner like for algae and a plastic container, put one side of the magnet on the outside glass, the other on the inside of the container and viola, it holds it in the desired location to fill water easily. You can adjust the height etc as it fills too. It allows you to pour pretty fast as water is dispersed upward.

I've done drip water changes as well, but that is very very slow like 5 or more hours, usually I would place the bucket higher than tank, tie a knot and clip the tubing to tank and bucket, usually for sensitive organisms.
Green_Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:11 AM   #41
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

Changed another 75% or so tonite and nothing floated.
Everything still looks about the same (a good thing).

Lights are running for about 12 hrs. Is that too much? (LED lighting system 3.8W. Triple Panel LED bands with 135PAR@6" of light output. Pic earlier in this thread.)
d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:06 AM   #42
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

12 hours is a lot - if you start getting algae problems, start cutting the photoperiod down
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 12:32 PM   #43
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

I can cut it down now. It's at 12 for no other reason than having no clue what the lighting period should be for this size tank, this type/amount of light, and a new tank/plants. Should I go down as far as 8 maybe?
d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 01:57 PM   #44
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (430/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,448
Default

Honestly, I'd go down to six hours unless you plan to start using CO2 instead of Excel. Algae farm in the making. Any way you could use fiberglass window screen material to filter the light? That could also help a bit if you add a few layers.

Have a feeling it's going to be great once you get everything balanced.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 02:23 PM   #45
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

Thanks, I'll make the switch.
I'm so used to the really intense lighting needed to grow coral.
I want to make sure the plants get what they need, but I definitely don't want algae!
d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012