Ammonia spike after disturbing substrate
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 12:32 AM   #1
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 3,739
Default

Ammonia spike after disturbing substrate


Has any one ever them selfs have a death after this? I know most of us do not touch our substrate, but I just messed with my TB tank and my SSS-SSS+ tank that has a bunch of babies that are TB,Mishchlings. And nothing, no deaths not much sign of stress. They all are doing great. I do not see any of my berried females dropping eggs nothing
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2013, 12:35 AM   #2
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,014
Default

Well how much did you 'mess with it'? That's kinda vague. I've 'messed with substrate' just moving stuff around inadvertantly...I've done partial rescapes...the amount of debris is vastly different. So you need to better define what 'messed with your substrate' means and how much you did. Did you do a whole rescape or just moved a cholla log? Not being a smart alec but understand, your post was quite vague.
ravensgate is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 12:45 AM   #3
Assassynation
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 330
Default

I lost my RCS colony a few months ago to an ammonia spike. A few days after I introduced them. It has a ADA 3 layer substrate system.
Assassynation is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 12:47 AM   #4
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

Whats the pH? At a pH of less than 7, ammonia starts getting converted to ammonium, and the lower the pH, the more and faster it gets converted, so at a pH of 5, ammonia isn't really that toxic. Seachem total ammonia test kit can tell the difference between ammonia and ammonium.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 12:47 AM   #5
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 3,739
Default Re: Ammonia spike after disturbing substrate

Well i took my planting tweezers dug them through every inch of the substrate looking for some crushed coral i had in it rescaped everything so much i could not see in the tank it was so clouded

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 12:54 AM   #6
arktixan
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON Canada
Posts: 404
Default

I've really noticed it depends how much it's actually disturbed, there's times where I did something major, wiped out a few, theres times where minimal movement, and no damage.

If you were careful that could easily done it.
arktixan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 01:54 AM   #7
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 3,739
Default

yeah PH 5.5 in one tank and 6.0 in another. I messed it up so bad, one of the tanks was moved too. So it was washed around like bath water.
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 03:04 AM   #8
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

This happens to me whenever I remove moss from one of my tanks, all babies die and some adults. Doesn't happen fast though, they die over a few weeks.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012