Best way to trim Amazon Sword
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 04:35 AM   #1
Sluuuder
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Sluuuder's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lexington,NC
Posts: 313
Question

Best way to trim Amazon Sword


My amazon sword has almost out grown my tank. I want to trim it down quit a bit cause im going to redo my tank in the next few days. Heres a pic of the sword:

__________________



Sluuuder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2013, 04:40 AM   #2
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Cut the older leaves off at the bottom and keep the newer growth - you shouldn't cut the leaves in half.

Last edited by Yankee; 02-03-2013 at 06:19 AM.. Reason: Meant to say *shouldn't*
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:49 AM   #3
OVT
Carpe Diem
 
OVT's Avatar
 
PTrader: (142/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SF East Bay Area
Posts: 5,183
Default

Pull and then tear off the outside leaves away from the rhizome - sort of like peeling an onion.
__________________
Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
OVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:56 AM   #4
ronnie6989
Algae Grower
 
ronnie6989's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Prov RI
Posts: 80
Default

pull it out and see if you can pull plants apart....in that pic it should be more than one plant at the base or crown of plant. trim the roots and the leafs that are dying off.

Ronnie
ronnie6989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:19 AM   #5
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Oops, sorry, in my comment I meant to say you SHOULDN'T cut the leaves in half - touchscreen fail.
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:43 AM   #6
Indian fern
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Indian fern's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philippines, Manila
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVT View Post
Pull and then tear off the outside leaves away from the rhizome - sort of like peeling an onion.
+1, cutting leaves in half will make no difference. Prune the leaves down to the stalks.
Indian fern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:20 PM   #7
whickerda
Planted Member
 
whickerda's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sluuuder View Post
My amazon sword has almost out grown my tank.
This is what they do. It's very easy to underestimate how much space they really need.

+1 for the peeling-the-onion approach.
__________________
But at my LFS they said...
whickerda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:27 PM   #8
greenman857
Planted Member
 
greenman857's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern VT
Posts: 269
Default

Thinking of the sword plant like a perennial plant growing in my garden i'd cut the oldest leaves first. they're the outer most leaves, it even looks like some are starting decay. The plant grows from the center so leave those as much as possible.
You could peel it like some have suggested but that will set it back (which might be a good thing)
you could even cut the leaves in half but that wont look that good.
__________________
Wabi-kusa101: My first attempts at Wabi-kusa
Newer Wabi-kusa Wabi-kusa and then some!
Claytower: Clay tower shapes, Wabi-kusa with shrimp.
The Floating Island

greenman857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:49 PM   #9
kochman
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 53
Default

For my swords I do what all these guy's have said. My method for cutting is to take sharp stainless scissors , push them under substrate where they need to be cut and snip. I don't know of any benefit to this I just don't like seeing the cut off area's
kochman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:23 PM   #10
brogan
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Downers Grove
Posts: 98
Default

I use scissors to cut mine.
brogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012