EcoTech Marine Radion - Help me test them
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 07:35 PM   #1
MiamiArt
Algae Grower
 
MiamiArt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 90
Lightbulb

EcoTech Marine Radion - Help me test them




So the awesome folks at EcoTech Marine were kind enough to loan me a Radion and a Vortech MP10! I love those guys!

I'm going to set up a brand new 24g aquarium to test them on. I'll be reporting on how well I can get them to work in a planted aquarium environment. The added flow of the Vortech will be awesome to see as well.

Now I have developed some tests that I will be running that I think are important for us planted aquarium hobbyists. However, I want to be sure I get everyone else's input on what they would like to see.

PLEASE let me know what tests you want me to run on these puppies and what you want me to report on. We know these guys work well for reefs. Let's see how well they perform for planted aquariums.

I very much appreciate it.
__________________
Regards,

Art
MiamiArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-06-2012, 08:43 PM   #2
jmowbray
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (18/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Standish, MI.
Posts: 1,826
Default

How about you just send them to me and I'll test them....AND KEEP THEM!!!!!! lol I'm SO jealous right now. I'm going to be getting MP10s for my reef but that day can't come soon enough.
jmowbray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:01 PM   #3
robbowal
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
robbowal's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: london UK
Posts: 528
Default

Hi MiamiArt
I run an mp10 on a 40G and i have to say its very very good (a little fiddly to get running silent) it runs on lagoon setting at %50 power which is more than enough flow, but i would reccomend running it with the sponge guard for two reasons
1. to reduce the flow a little and it acts as a debris filter (which i clean at the weekly water change time)
2. most importantly to keep snails out (they can cause the rotor to stall)

To break it in run it at full power in an empty tank for a few days that will speed up the bed in process for the wet side.
To prevent the rotor(wet side) slipping during running, when you first place it in the tank press it firmly against the glass while rotating it anticlockwise.
To get the alignment correct place your ear on the glass and listen to the vibration while you move the dry side around (half MM at most) until you find the sweet spot.

Hope you have fun with it, i would like to have the radions as well but i have only just bought grobeams not so long ago (Hmmm maybe its time to sow the seeds to the missus for a future upgrade)
__________________
Canon Pimp Club #003
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." Albert Einstein
"Living in the lap of luxury isn`t bad, except you never know when luxury is going to stand up." Orson Welles
robbowal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 11:51 AM   #4
MiamiArt
Algae Grower
 
MiamiArt's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 90
Default

Hey thanks, guys.

Here's the unpacking start:

__________________
Regards,

Art
MiamiArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 03:32 PM   #5
prototyp3
Wannabe Guru
 
prototyp3's Avatar
 
PTrader: (86/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,221
Default

I'm not sure there is really anything left to test. The reef crowd has pretty much dissected their equipment to death. Real flow rates, PAR charts, etc, are all available.
__________________
prototyp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 03:00 PM   #6
tbarabash
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton AB Canada
Posts: 353
Default

lol @ the thought of a vortech in a 24G with fish in it running at 100% :P


Lucky guy, I'm saving up to buy 3 radions for my new 210 reef
tbarabash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
robbowal
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
robbowal's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: london UK
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbarabash View Post
lol @ the thought of a vortech in a 24G with fish in it running at 100% :P


Lucky guy, I'm saving up to buy 3 radions for my new 210 reef
Fish soup for sure, they can move a hell of a lot of water for their size, dont underestimate them for a second.
My comment for running at full power was for an empty tank.
__________________
Canon Pimp Club #003
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." Albert Einstein
"Living in the lap of luxury isn`t bad, except you never know when luxury is going to stand up." Orson Welles
robbowal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 12:44 PM   #8
ukprometheus
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default

can i ask how the testing went ????
ukprometheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:33 PM   #9
AlanLe
Gurus Master
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 795
Default

probably failed lol
AlanLe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:19 AM   #10
d2mini
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 180
Default

I have 4 radions over my sw tank and 1 over the frag tank. Great lights.
The cube tank in all their advertising was my old tank and house.
Great guys for sure. Best customer service in the biz.

But that's a lot of light for freshwater though, no?
And vortech's? I thought only reef tanks needed this kind of power.
d2mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:16 AM   #11
mrkookm
Wannabe Guru
 
mrkookm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,600
Default

IMO while these are great for SW is not optimal for freshwater. I was close to buying 2 of these, but quickly realized it wouldn't be best if I wanted colors to pop.

Manufacturers need to to start making high output LED fixtures with the spectrum optimal for our use and not the low intensity options currently available.
__________________



The Junkie
mrkookm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012