Ridiculously high ammonis, fish acting fine, new test kit..whats going on?! - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 11:08 AM   #16
MSG
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
MSG's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: East Coast
Posts: 514
Default

Ridiculously high ammonis, fish acting fine, new test kit..whats going on?!


Isn't 12 capsules of the stuff too much to add? How long has this tank been running?

If I was to supplement the substrate with gel caps, I would use 3. (Left, Center, Right)

I can't figure out which one is the gourami. Too early in the morning for me.

Any fish with weird bumps, spots gets removed immediately for observation.

Good luck catching the suspect.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2013, 11:38 AM   #17
Cthulhu
Planted Member
 
Cthulhu's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 183
Default

Plants will also consume NH4, but I have no idea how much and how long it would take to bring it down to a safe level.
Cthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:39 PM   #18
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,498
Default

Yes. Way too much.

I use one or two for maybe every square foot of substrate.

OP: Doesn't matter if you disturb your substrate or not, once water hits the osmocote? It all starts to breakdown and become available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSG View Post
Isn't 12 capsules of the stuff too much to add? How long has this tank been running?

If I was to supplement the substrate with gel caps, I would use 3. (Left, Center, Right)

I can't figure out which one is the gourami. Too early in the morning for me.

Any fish with weird bumps, spots gets removed immediately for observation.

Good luck catching the suspect.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 03:13 PM   #19
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,766
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cthulhu View Post
Plants will also consume NH4, but I have no idea how much and how long it would take to bring it down to a safe level.
IME high tech tank full of plants use 0.50ppm of NH4 everyday, this is based on what my tank used.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:05 PM   #20
aokashi
Wannabe Guru
 
aokashi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 1,490
Default Ridiculously high ammonis, fish acting fine, new test kit..whats going on?!

oh and... you can also invest in a water hyacinth.
aokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:48 AM   #21
LyzzaRyzz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
LyzzaRyzz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 465
Default

The tank is doing well, the ammonia leve is about 1.5ppm, much better in my eyes, seeing as though the fish act as though its not even there! They are playing and swiming, eating and shoaling. =]
My tank is low tech, and has no CO2, and is regularly at 6.4 ph. My tap water is 6.4, too, so water changes shouldent affect the ph level. Right?
And if thats right, then leaving the osmocote in the tank til it depletes itself, shouldent be a problem.

What i dont get is that so many people use this as a fert, and dont have problems. What makes it a problem, or not a problem?
__________________
50g, 45g, 15g, 10g, 2x2.5g, 2g bowl

LyzzaRyzz's Tanks and More! - http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=226122
LyzzaRyzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:57 AM   #22
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,766
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LyzzaRyzz View Post
The tank is doing well, the ammonia leve is about 1.5ppm, much better in my eyes, seeing as though the fish act as though its not even there! They are playing and swiming, eating and shoaling. =]
My tank is low tech, and has no CO2, and is regularly at 6.4 ph. My tap water is 6.4, too, so water changes shouldent affect the ph level. Right?
And if thats right, then leaving the osmocote in the tank til it depletes itself, shouldent be a problem.

What i dont get is that so many people use this as a fert, and dont have problems. What makes it a problem, or not a problem?
people overdose it, it might looks small amount when you are adding it, but that small amount can be quite big. people have problem overdosing it, not covering it with least 2-3" of substrate, sand substrate covers it better than gravel based substrate, it leaches out of gravel based substrate, in most cases it comes up. you should not have any problem if you are keep on chaing the water and keep up with the lower PH. are you dosing any fertilizer in this tank? if you are dosing any Nitrogen then i would not dose that for now.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ammonia level, ammonia spike, api test kits

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012