Best filter with built in heater for 180 gallon tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 07:23 PM   #1
JonWF
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 17
Default

Best filter with built in heater for 180 gallon tank?


Hi - says it all. trying to decide filter for a ADA 180p. Trying to keep everything clean so want a built in heater on a large capacity filter. Any suggestions? Thanks.
JonWF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2013, 07:27 PM   #2
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default Re: Best filter with built in heater for 180 gallon tank?

Sump...

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
CrypticLifeStyle
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,284
Default

What if the heater in the filter goes bad, or vice versa. 1 problem becomes 2. Just saying.
__________________
I'm not into the image, but into the hobby...
CrypticLifeStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:11 PM   #4
Pugman
Algae Grower
 
Pugman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chico
Posts: 145
Default

In my experience heaters over 300 watt fail relatively quickly. Go inline for cleanliness.
Pugman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:22 PM   #5
JonWF
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks Pugman. What did you wind up using for filtration and inline heating? I am going to do a copycat setup!

Last edited by JonWF; 01-30-2013 at 08:22 PM.. Reason: corection
JonWF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:39 PM   #6
Pugman
Algae Grower
 
Pugman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chico
Posts: 145
Default

I used 2 Hydor 300 watt inline with 2 Fluval G6 canisters. Although everyone on here bashed the G2 idea. Everyone praises Ehiem canisters. Go with what you like. The G2's are easy to service and they warn you when the mechanical gets clogged. Any canisters will work, do a little research.
Pugman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:48 PM   #7
nikonD70s
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
nikonD70s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: california
Posts: 737
Default

if u have a sump. just put the heaters in the sump. if you're using canister def go with inline.
nikonD70s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:43 PM   #8
AlanLe
Dude Where's Your CO2?
 
AlanLe's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikonD70s View Post
if u have a sump. just put the heaters in the sump. if you're using canister def go with inline.
Does inline heater slow down the water flow rate?
AlanLe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:03 PM   #9
puopg
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 760
Default

Sump + 2x heaters. That way no one heater gets overtasked.
puopg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:18 AM   #10
Pugman
Algae Grower
 
Pugman's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chico
Posts: 145
Default

A sump is nice if you buy the version that is predrilled. Unfortunately it's not available in high clarity. Canisters seemed more simple to me. I had to have the high clarity glass. I think it really adds to the rimless effect. To me sumps are great for high oxygen filtration and a place to stash you heaters and anything else you may need. I didn't want a wet/dry filter and inline heaters did the trick. I use a one inch diffuser for my CO2 and put it right underneath a MP40 pump for distribution. It works very well. You would most likely use twice the amount of CO2 if you we're using a wet/dry filter.
Pugman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012