Fluval shrimp stratum
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 03:38 PM   #1
Fdsh5
Wannabe Guru
 
Fdsh5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,262
Default

Fluval shrimp stratum


I changed my substrate to fluval shrimp stratum. How long until it starts to effect my water parameters meaning ph gh and kh. Thanks
Fdsh5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2013, 04:12 PM   #2
GeToChKn
Planted Tank Guru
 
GeToChKn's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,116
Default

How hard is your water? If it's very hard gh/kh wise and the pH is high, I don't expect it will change much at all.
__________________
20g platy, , 2 x 10g shrimp, 3 x 20g shrimp, 7.5g shrimp and 1 great dane/mastiff puppy.

Sump Pimp #2

My Tanks and my shrimps
GeToChKn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 04:17 PM   #3
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (177/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,695
Default

+1.. much of this is dependant on the parameters of your source water. Buffer life will likely last longer if the buffering is a lesser swing. the buffering should start happening immediately but would be only measureable if the change is larger. For reference, my tanks with flourite, ecocomplete and safe-t-sorb all reside within 6.5-6.7. FSS tends to remain in 6.6 for the past 7 months.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 07:04 PM   #4
Fdsh5
Wannabe Guru
 
Fdsh5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (44/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,262
Default

My ph was 7.4 and the gh and kh through the roof. I am going to do a water change Saturday and use RO water.
Fdsh5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2013, 10:32 PM   #5
ftwchopper
Algae Grower
 
ftwchopper's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: woodstock connecticut
Posts: 82
Default

Im wondering if safe-t-sorb would be a good substrate for crs seeing that it buffers down to 6.0.Ive had it in a planted 29 gal for a few months and its still at a very low ph.
ftwchopper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012