Miracle gro fertilizer?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
pmcarbrey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: kansas
Posts: 536
Default

Miracle gro fertilizer?


I was recently told that it is possible to use miracle gro to dose a planted tank, is this correct? I was told that it would not harm any of the fish and that it would be an easy alternative to ordering fertilizers to dose with
pmcarbrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2013, 02:38 PM   #2
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 886
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

Probably no

Most contain urea (listed on back as ammonical nitrogen sometimes), which breaks down into ammonia.

And a good portion contain heavy metals, which are toxic as well. Check the contents of the one you want to buy here

http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilize...ct1.aspx?ltr=M
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:44 PM   #3
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,749
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

urea is not the problem if ph is 7< but i think Miracle gro isn't balanced fertilizer for planted tanks.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:51 PM   #4
pmcarbrey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: kansas
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happi View Post
urea is not the problem if ph is 7< but i think Miracle gro isn't balanced fertilizer for planted tanks.
Ph out of the tap is 8.6, so no worries there, I'll go ahead and check the box I have lying around and see if it's any good!
pmcarbrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:04 PM   #5
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 886
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

I'd personally be worried more about the heavy metals in most Miracle Gro if I had fish/inverts in the tank that are sensitive.
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:06 PM   #6
ronnie6989
Algae Grower
 
ronnie6989's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Prov RI
Posts: 80
Default

I seen somebody use (miracle grow organic) up on the internet.....I WOULD NOT USE IT. You really got to watch what additives are in it and how it is going to affect ur ph.

Ronnie
ronnie6989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:32 PM   #7
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,495
Default

I use gro-fine, a more balanced knock-off.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:38 PM   #8
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

I use the All purpose plant food no problem.
Just dose small amount at a time. My is run on a auto fert dose-er ^^

I know a guy who been using it for yrs with snail, shrimp, fish, plant etc.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:50 PM   #9
pmcarbrey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: kansas
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by In.a.Box View Post
I use the All purpose plant food no problem.
Just dose small amount at a time. My is run on a auto fert dose-er ^^

I know a guy who been using it for yrs with snail, shrimp, fish, plant etc.
How much do you dose? The all purpose is what I have
pmcarbrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:04 PM   #10
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,749
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcarbrey View Post
Ph out of the tap is 8.6, so no worries there, I'll go ahead and check the box I have lying around and see if it's any good!
i meant to say urea or ammonium based fert become problem if Ph is higher than 7. yours is already high enough to convert ammonium or urea into ammonia within seconds after adding to the water. i wouldn't suggest adding this fert in that parameter.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:12 PM   #11
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 886
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcarbrey View Post
How much do you dose? The all purpose is what I have
Which all purpose? like full name exact....
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:13 PM   #12
pmcarbrey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: kansas
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UDGags View Post
Yep, that's it
pmcarbrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:16 PM   #13
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,749
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcarbrey View Post
Yep, that's it
N and P looks ok but K+ is low, which can be added separated through K2SO4, but there are so many other metals at higher rate which might not be suitable for planted tank.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:22 PM   #14
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 886
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcarbrey View Post
Yep, that's it
The metals are so high...you better be careful.

I think 3% of the N is urea, which will be ammonia within seconds at your pH. Keep this in mind if you are going to dose with it.
__________________
UDGags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:38 PM   #15
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,100
Default

As people have already mentioned, I would highly recommend you not using any (terrestrial) fertilizer that uses ammonical nitrogen (urea) as its nitrogen source, since it will become ammonia in your aquarium (at a pH of 8.6, there will essentially be no ammonium anion formation).

There have been people that have successfully dosed with urea, but I do not think they ever dosed when there was livestock in the aquarium.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012