Should I? Or should I not?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 12:10 AM   #1
owens81jw
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 688
Default

Should I? Or should I not?


Hello all

There's been a huge debate on washing flourite before put it in the tank is good or bad

I have 5 bags of black flourite sand coming in ,

Should I wash it out? Or just fill the tank up slowly?

The tank is 72gal
owens81jw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2013, 01:30 AM   #2
xiaoxiy
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 172
Default

Wash it. Definitely wash it at least 2-3 times.

I just filled up a tank with 4 bags of fluorite. It took at least 4 washes before it stopped running muddy dusty, and only grey dusty. After 8 washes it was still running cloudy, but I said fudge it and slowly filled up my tank. The cloudiness cleared up by the next day though!
xiaoxiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:53 AM   #3
owens81jw
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiaoxiy View Post
Wash it. Definitely wash it at least 2-3 times.

I just filled up a tank with 4 bags of fluorite. It took at least 4 washes before it stopped running muddy dusty, and only grey dusty. After 8 washes it was still running cloudy, but I said fudge it and slowly filled up my tank. The cloudiness cleared up by the next day though!
What did you was it in?
owens81jw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:56 AM   #4
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

I didn't wash mine and it was fine in my 29G. Uprooting plants and stuff made the water a tiny bit cloudy, but a 50% water change always cleared it up. The stuff that doesn't settle out will come out with a water change or your filters.
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:26 AM   #5
Knotyoureality
Wannabe Guru
 
Knotyoureality's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,054
Default

Always worth doing at least a rinse or two--if only to knock the worst of the dust out. Easiest way I've found to handle it is using a cat litter box--the long flat shape lets you easily stir up all the substrate, pour off the water quickly without dumping anything and easily see how much is coming off it as you rinse.

Buckets, in comparison, are hard to get light down into, don't allow you to put much substrate in at a time and still be able to effectively stir it up and are hard to pour much water off quickly without risking having the substrate dump out.
Knotyoureality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:33 AM   #6
l8nite
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 685
Default

When I rinsed a bag of eco-complete, I used my wife's wrapping-paper bin. Worked pretty well
l8nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:37 AM   #7
Bluek24a4
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 817
Default

Rinse it and fill it slowly.
Bluek24a4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:46 AM   #8
sssnel
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 89
Default

Rinse it with a fine mesh strainer, then be very gentle adding the water.
sssnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 06:13 AM   #9
owens81jw
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 688
Default

I SAW SOMEONE ON this forum said they using an old pillowcase n ran that thru water for 15mins
owens81jw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:06 PM   #10
Sluggo
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, Me.
Posts: 235
Default

From their website: "FlouriteŽ is a specially fracted, stable porous clay gravel for the natural planted aquarium."

Weird, because the bag I got seemed to be loaded with twigs and pieces of mulch.
Sluggo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:17 PM   #11
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sluggo View Post
From their website: "FlouriteŽ is a specially fracted, stable porous clay gravel for the natural planted aquarium."

Weird, because the bag I got seemed to be loaded with twigs and pieces of mulch.
Odd. Likely what you got was a mislabeled bag. I've never heard of this before, and I've bought Flourite regular and black sand in the past, and never had anything organic. It's clay chips and dust, no dirt or sticks.

And yes, wash it thoroughly. There's really not a big argument on this point. There are a handful of people who say they had minimal clouding issues or believe that the dust is somehow beneficial, but the solid consensus is wash, wash, wash.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:45 PM   #12
Low_t Tom
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Posts: 34
Default

Don't wash it, lightly rinse it once and put it in the tank (if you wash it you are washing all the things you want down the drain, and should just use standard gravel instead). Fill tank VERY slowly! Make sure you have a thin gravel cap on top of it to allow the fish to do their thing without disturbing the stuff.
Low_t Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:07 PM   #13
owens81jw
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low_t Tom View Post
Don't wash it, lightly rinse it once and put it in the tank (if you wash it you are washing all the things you want down the drain, and should just use standard gravel instead). Fill tank VERY slowly! Make sure you have a thin gravel cap on top of it to allow the fish to do their thing without disturbing the stuff.
I don't plan on capping it......
owens81jw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:03 PM   #14
Wolf19
Planted Member
 
Wolf19's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 221
Default

Simple question related to this topic...

Do I need to 'cycle' black fluorite prior to planting, or can I begin planting after rinsing and having the substrate in the tank?
Wolf19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:17 PM   #15
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf19 View Post
Simple question related to this topic...

Do I need to 'cycle' black fluorite prior to planting, or can I begin planting after rinsing and having the substrate in the tank?
This I can answer.

Just plant everything right away, no point in waiting, especially if you have the tank filled with water.
__________________
My 75 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/n7zp47m
My 10 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/qyf7s5o
My 5.5 gallon nano College Dorm Tank:http://tinyurl.com/p54uupj
Mom's Spec V:http://tinyurl.com/qjt3rw2
HybridHerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012