I Need New Lights ASAP! Would this work?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 08:29 PM   #1
GiveIt2MeNerdy
Algae Grower
 
GiveIt2MeNerdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 24
Question

I Need New Lights ASAP! Would this work?


Hey Everyone!

I'm in desperate need of new lighting for my 55-gallon freshwater (I'm currently running only 1, 32-watt florescent which is obviously not cutting it) , but I am on a very strict budget, so I'm really looking to get a lot of bang for my buck

I came across this lighting system and I'm really leaning towards it simply because of the price, but I would REALLY appreciate some opinions here:

http://www.homedepot.com/Lighting-Fa...1#.UQWbkfLueSo

Would this be a good idea?
GiveIt2MeNerdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2013, 08:42 PM   #2
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

Diamond Plate shop light

If you are running a low tech tank, then don't even bother with all those t5's. This light is only 2 t8 bulbs, but it has some of the best reflectors you can find. So if you buy this you would want to raise it about 5 inches or put a layer of window screen under it
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
GiveIt2MeNerdy
Algae Grower
 
GiveIt2MeNerdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchfish9 View Post
Diamond Plate shop light

If you are running a low tech tank, then don't even bother with all those t5's. This light is only 2 t8 bulbs, but it has some of the best reflectors you can find. So if you buy this you would want to raise it about 5 inches or put a layer of window screen under it
Hey thanks!

My tank is high tech, so would they work?

The link you posted tanks me to a dead end?
GiveIt2MeNerdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:15 PM   #4
Bubba Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 349
Default

They would work fine.
__________________
So a guy walks into a Pet Store

Guy: "I have Algae on my drift wood!"

Pet Clerk: "Take two Plecos and call me next week."



EHEIM Classic 2213
Check out my blog
tsturgeonblog.wordpress.com/
Bubba Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:24 PM   #5
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

This was the intended link:

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/lithoni...1241dp-re.html
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:43 PM   #6
aznartist34
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GiveIt2MeNerdy View Post
Hey thanks!

My tank is high tech, so would they work?

The link you posted tanks me to a dead end?
High tech implies high light, pressurized co2 and feet dozing. I suggest you read more into lighting and co2 before you dive into high lighting and save yourself a lot of frustration with algae and such in the future.
aznartist34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:01 PM   #7
Rich Guano
Planted Member
 
Rich Guano's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arnoldsville, GA
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aznartist34 View Post
High tech implies high light, pressurized co2 and feet dozing. I suggest you read more into lighting and co2 before you dive into high lighting and save yourself a lot of frustration with algae and such in the future.
What is feet dozing?

He is right, your gonna get better bang for you buck staying low tech. Why don't you slip over to the low tech section and see what all the fuss is about.

Your 55 tank looks good so far. If your having trouble with it let us know whats going on.
__________________
Have an open mind, but not so open that your brains fall out.

Think outside the glass box.

Last edited by Rich Guano; 01-27-2013 at 10:20 PM.. Reason: Trying to be helpful
Rich Guano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:44 PM   #8
Steve001
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Baltimore Maryland
Posts: 1,327
Default

Yes, What is feet dozing ? And why would they want too doze their feet that's assuming it's their feet and not my feet they are talking. Perhaps this is a construction project that requires using their feet.
Steve001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:52 PM   #9
GiveIt2MeNerdy
Algae Grower
 
GiveIt2MeNerdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aznartist34 View Post
High tech implies high light, pressurized co2 and feet dozing. I suggest you read more into lighting and co2 before you dive into high lighting and save yourself a lot of frustration with algae and such in the future.
Thanks, I'm aware. My tank does have CO2 injection and ferts. What's missing is the lighting.
__________________
GiveIt2MeNerdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:02 PM   #10
GiveIt2MeNerdy
Algae Grower
 
GiveIt2MeNerdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Guano View Post
What is feet dozing?

He is right, your gonna get better bang for you buck staying low tech. Why don't you slip over to the low tech section and see what all the fuss is about.

Your 55 tank looks good so far. If your having trouble with it let us know whats going on.
Wow. So I checked out the low-tech forum and holy moly!!! Some of those tanks are absolutely breath-taking and dare I say, some even more so than some high-tech tanks that I've seen. Definitely makes you think twice about spending so much money on tank supplies when you can get something that beautiful with next to nothing cost.
__________________
GiveIt2MeNerdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:08 PM   #11
Rich Guano
Planted Member
 
Rich Guano's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Arnoldsville, GA
Posts: 216
Default

I am very proud of you. This is a wonderful moment. Where shall we begin. It is time for you to take a walk on the dirt side.
__________________
Have an open mind, but not so open that your brains fall out.

Think outside the glass box.
Rich Guano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:33 AM   #12
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

Sorry about the link. And the low tech forum and dustinsfish tanks is what inspired my originally to show how much I could do while going low tech.

But if you are going low tech and want a reliable fixture, that is about as cheap as it gets. You would want to raise it some if you are doing low tech. And if its high tech it can sit right on top of the tank.
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:09 AM   #13
aznartist34
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 551
Default

Damn auto correct, you know what I mean. For high tech diy co2 isn't enough for a large tank unless you have several gallon containers of the yeast mixtures, you need pressurized co2 keep up with demands on a consistent basis.
aznartist34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:45 PM   #14
Yankee
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Yankee's Avatar
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GiveIt2MeNerdy View Post
Thanks, I'm aware. My tank does have CO2 injection and ferts. What's missing is the lighting.
This is a great budget fixture for a high tech 55:
http://www.catalinaaquarium.com/stor...8&reviews_id=2
Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:26 PM   #15
GiveIt2MeNerdy
Algae Grower
 
GiveIt2MeNerdy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aznartist34 View Post
Damn auto correct, you know what I mean. For high tech diy co2 isn't enough for a large tank unless you have several gallon containers of the yeast mixtures, you need pressurized co2 keep up with demands on a consistent basis.
Well it's enough CO2 to crash my pH from 8.4 to 6.5, so DIY or not it's certainly having a great effect on my tank.
__________________
GiveIt2MeNerdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
homedepot, lighting, low budget, low light, viavolt

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012