Breeder boxes and selective breeding a ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 01:37 AM   #1
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

Breeder boxes and selective breeding a ?


For those that run breeder boxes on their tanks, do you run them all the time and just put in your pairs when the time comes or do you tear them down and reset them up when you are ready for certain breeding pairs? Got a female I want to selectively breed on her next molt and wonder if I should go ahead and set up now (she molted today). Also, this will be on a rimless acrylic so wondering if folks have photos of their setups on these, if they just prop a box under the box or what to keep pressure off the tank. Thanks in advance!
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2013, 01:58 AM   #2
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

i would think that if she molted today then she is probably already knocked up if there are males in the tank
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:46 AM   #3
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

No, I watched her molt start to finish, no males dancing. And there are 6 males in the tank. She has a saddle but it's about small medium size. She wasn't ready and it was clear by no dancing in the tank. Hence why I asked the question. I've got probably 2 weeks to get something set up for her
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:53 AM   #4
Rob in Puyallup
Opae Ula Crazed.
 
Rob in Puyallup's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,400
Default

"knocked up" Love it!
Rob in Puyallup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:31 PM   #5
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

i would say get it up and her in it then. that way you know for sure its the male you want with her and as soon as she has the next molt will be no question to who the father is. if the population is small i dont see a prob with just letting them live in the box. i alway keep mine going be it for shrimp or fish. almost like another filter when you stuff it full of moss and filter fiber
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:33 PM   #6
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,606
Default

[QUOTE=wicca27;2304561...almost like another filter when you stuff it full of moss and filter fiber[/QUOTE]

What a neat concept. I never thought of that!
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:52 PM   #7
wicca27
Planted Tank Guru
 
wicca27's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dewey
Posts: 4,811
Send a message via Yahoo to wicca27
Default

kinda like a sump for a reef tank sand and critters in it to help the bioload. right now mine has baby philippine blue angel babies and its on the 55. in a coupel weeks it will be back in the shrimp area for a while
wicca27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:18 PM   #8
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (103/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,180
Default

I keep my breeder boxes on the whol time in the tanks I have them on. I have micro pumps feeding them so nothing gets stagnet. A air pump and sponge is not enough to drive them in my opinion
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:52 PM   #9
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

I've got the Elite Hagen mini filter, so these won't be air pump driven. Thanks for the tips folks, I'll go ahead and get it set up this weekend!
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:14 PM   #10
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (103/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,180
Default

That is the pump I use, and a small sponge filter inside for bacterial purposes and it works great
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:38 PM   #11
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

Awesome! Thank you!
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:12 PM   #12
Bananariot
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bananariot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Biddeford, Maine
Posts: 2,635
Default

What size breeder box are u gonna use? I imagine the medium would be fine for the rimless. Sine I have nematodes these boxes usually become a haven for them so I tear them down every time. Also I think they take away from the purpose if a rimless tank xD
Bananariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:16 PM   #13
Bananariot
Planted Tank Guru
 
Bananariot's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Biddeford, Maine
Posts: 2,635
Default

I've also noticed no matter I have a manual pp like the elite or a air pump default babies always manage to make it into the box >.> so watch them cartully
Bananariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:17 PM   #14
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bananariot View Post
What size breeder box are u gonna use? I imagine the medium would be fine for the rimless. Sine I have nematodes these boxes usually become a haven for them so I tear them down every time. Also I think they take away from the purpose if a rimless tank xD
I've got two mediums but was going to pick up a large at some point. The tank this is going on the side of is a 3 gallon Kritter Keeper type thing (same basic thing, different brand) so no way am I putting it on there as far as letting the weight of the breeder pull on that tank. I'll have a box under that one for sure. For the Mr Aqua 12G rimless it would probably be fine on that one, but still not positive.
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:18 PM   #15
ravensgate
Planted Tank Guru
 
ravensgate's Avatar
 
PTrader: (66/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bananariot View Post
I've also noticed no matter I have a manual pp like the elite or a air pump default babies always manage to make it into the box >.> so watch them cartully
Yeah, seeing as how they make it into my HOB on the other tank even with a sponge prefilter on there, I will be watching that like a hawk
ravensgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012