co2 bps ?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 10:16 AM   #1
youdontknowme
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: earth
Posts: 63
Default

co2 bps ?


how many bubbles per second do you need for lets say to carpet hairgrass/glosso / HC ?
LETS say i keep my surface agitation at the minimum and using ceramic glass diffuser ( what diffuser do you suggest ? ) , and 2x54W single reflector for each bulb (gieseman powerchrome aquaflora and gieseman powerchrome midday) . pressurized co2

for 120gallon planted tank.
youdontknowme is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2013, 01:54 PM   #2
mrkookm
Wannabe Guru
 
mrkookm's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by youdontknowme View Post
how many bubbles per second do you need for lets say to carpet hairgrass/glosso / HC ?
LETS say i keep my surface agitation at the minimum and using ceramic glass diffuser ( what diffuser do you suggest ? ) , and 2x54W single reflector for each bulb (gieseman powerchrome aquaflora and gieseman powerchrome midday) . pressurized co2

for 120gallon planted tank.
Not a easy question due to the size of the tank, not knowing you setup filtration wise and because different Co2 diffusion methods impact affect the visual 'bps' count.

I suggest using a drop checker to help you visually achieve your goal. Mount it in the opposite side of your tank relative to the Co2 diffuser and mount it ~6in off the substrate. Adjust your bps rate with the diffuser attached and set for 3~4 sec and work your way up/down from there using your drop checker as reference.
__________________



The Junkie
mrkookm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:00 PM   #3
82nd_Airborne
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 205
Default

I am carpeting dhg in my shrimp tank with no co2. Its taking it longer than i imagine it would with co2, but since its only a 3g shrimp tank, its doing nicely. In other woods, i think you could carpet it easily with low co2 if your other factors are in line.
82nd_Airborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012