redsea's 20g Long Build
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Tank Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 03:25 AM   #1
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Smile

redsea's 20g Long Build


Hello everyone! I am new here, and I just got a 20g tonight at Petco's Dollar Per Gallon Sale!

I am going for a simple planted tank for this one.

For lighting I am thinking about Ecoexotic's Planted Tank Module. As for substrate, I am going to be using Eco Complete.

That is all for now!
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2013, 03:44 AM   #2
Aquaticz
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
Aquaticz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 653
Default

Hey.. Congrats on the new tank.
Have you had one before or is this a first for you
And naturally welcome to our world




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Regards,
Aquaticz

Aquaticz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:00 AM   #3
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks!

I have had tanks before, but this is my only tank at the moment. I have never had a "planted" tank before though.
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:55 AM   #4
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

Ahhh.. Redsea! Welcome to TPT... from AA right? Wouldn't that lighting go a little beyond simple? When I think simple, I think low light / low tech setup.. but I think the PAR on that fixture would place your tank in the medium/high range... a high tech approach with co2 might be in store.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:48 AM   #5
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Cali77 View Post
Ahhh.. Redsea! Welcome to TPT... from AA right? Wouldn't that lighting go a little beyond simple? When I think simple, I think low light / low tech setup.. but I think the PAR on that fixture would place your tank in the medium/high range... a high tech approach with co2 might be in store.
Yep, I am from AA! I still go on there too, but will probably be on this forum a bit more often.

Would it still be okay to house low-light/low-need plants under that light? Or would the output kill them? Thanks!

redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:29 PM   #6
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

I didn't mention this in my first post, so I figured I would mention it now.

I would like to have a tank in which there is no CO2 supplementation or the addition of fertilizers, but I don't know if I can keep anything with that set up? Would the Eco-Complete and PWCs be enough?

Thanks everybody for stopping by my thread!
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 05:52 PM   #7
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

For a low light planted tank application, i think the Ecoxotic fixtures might be overkill. Without the addition of co2 and faster growing plants, you'll end up with a lot of algae. The Ecoxotic might work if it's suspended real high. Measure the distance from light source to substrate to get the PAR value between 10 to 30 for a low light / low tech setup.

Reference this
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=160396
as your guide to get the right estimated PAR.

For a low light tank, the Finnex Fugeray would probably suffice and not cost much.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:16 PM   #8
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks! So from the link, if I did decide to still go with the Ecoxotic Freshwater, I would need to have it about five inches above the tank. Does that sound about right since I have a twenty long? Thanks.
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:23 PM   #9
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

Which Ecoxotic lighting are you looking at? Well a 20L is 30" x 12" x 12".. taking into consideration 2 to 3 inches of substrate, you'll have to suspend the light like 10" above the tank.
According to this:
Ecoxotic Panorama Freshwater Module
PAR Data(Source) PAR Vs. Distance from source
161 PAR @ surface (3" through air)
101 PAR @ 7"
60 PAR @ 12"
36 PAR @ 18"

Last edited by Brian_Cali77; 01-19-2013 at 06:38 PM.. Reason: typo and formatting
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:32 PM   #10
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

Also.. if you're going for the Ecoxotic stunner strip, the PAR data is based on 4 strips.. so perhaps if you divide the PAR based on 2 strips, that might work... I just looked at those fixtures closer on the Marine Depot site, the Panorama is only 13" so with the stunner, you have either 24" or 36"... Which would you get for a 30" long tank? I should have asked this earlier and looked at the size of these fixtures... my bad.

Again, Finnex Fugeray is 30" and would fit this tank perfectly. Unless you're thinking ahead I'm case you want to expand into high light is why you're fixated on the Ecoxotic?
***From link:
Ecoxotic Stunner Strip
PAR Data(Source) PAR vs. Distance from source
105 PAR @ surface (3" through air)
86 PAR @ 7"
71 PAR @ 12"
59 PAR @ 15"
49 PAR @ 18"
Notes: Please note that the above reading is for a 4 strip array. I don't know why the testers did this since it gives us no real basis on which to judge this fixture. Good catch Erica.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:07 PM   #11
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks for all the info. I certainly have a lot to think about!

I should mention the plants I have been thinking about.
Bacopa carollniana, Telanthera, Cryptocoryne wendtii, Green Horemanii Sword, and Dwarf Hairgrass.
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:22 PM   #12
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

I don't think the DHG would thrive in a low light environment. You might be able to substitute that for some micro swords and/or dwarf sag.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:26 PM   #13
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks a lot!

Just another quick question....do all high-medium light plants need CO2 and ferts, or just some of them?
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:39 PM   #14
redsea
Algae Grower
 
redsea's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 64
Default

Oh, and are all those plants I listed except for the grass low light? Sorry for all the questions!
redsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:43 PM   #15
Brian_Cali77
Wannabe Guru
 
Brian_Cali77's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,364
Default

They definitely need ferts. I would have said most definitely for co2 as well, but Rivercats on AA has proven that moderate to high light plants can thrive with using Excel or other liquid carbon supplement like glutaraldehyde (AKA: "Glut"). Glut is the same as Excel but 2.5 times the concentration. So you'd either have to dilute it or dose less, following the Excel's dosing instructions. Glut costs significantly less than Excel. I bought some Metricide 14 that is Glut on Amazon. Compare prices you'll see what i mean. However, in my medium to high light tanks, i have two on pressurized co2 systems and 1 on DIY CO2.

Rivercats is very helpful if you want to go the non-co2 route and just dose Glut or Excel. Check out her 220g TOTM build... PM her too if you'd like.
__________________
Brian_Cali77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012