Pond Soil
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 05:10 AM   #1
lamiskool
Wannabe Guru
 
lamiskool's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,145
Default

Pond Soil


Hey I'm about to start a few planted tanks and was wondering instead of going through the process of making mineralized top soil, could I just use pond soil (ones that you buy in bags) insead of the MTS and would it work just as well?
lamiskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2013, 05:13 AM   #2
Jeffww
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,249
Default

Yes probably it's all the same basically. I heard that shultz pond soil leaches a lot of ammonia though.
Jeffww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:17 AM   #3
lamiskool
Wannabe Guru
 
lamiskool's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,145
Default

good to know thanks, with winter and and the rain i thnk this might just be easier...i guess ill just go fishless for a while and do lots of water changes/let the ammonia deplete for a while and stay away from shultz if i can
lamiskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 05:55 PM   #4
zherico
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newark and HC NJ
Posts: 102
Default

idk how much nutrients are actually in it....i think its valuable for its CEC....but rinse it really, really well though
__________________
are you a sink or source?
zherico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:02 AM   #5
lamiskool
Wannabe Guru
 
lamiskool's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,145
Default

ugh stopped by home depot and just decided it would be more cost effective and probably safer to just buy cheap top soil. Im currently in the process of mineralizing it right now and want to make sure everything else I as using is ok. What I am most concerned about is the clay. From what I read I dont want to be using any synthetic clay and so does anyone know of any exact brands/names of clay that I can just order online? Or is the one Im buying going to be fine?

Here the list of other ingredients i will be using.

Estes Dolomite from
http://www.petstore.com/estes-dolomi...FSXZQgod7mIA3Q

Muriate of Potash from
[Ebay Link Removed]

And Cmaco No.67 Clay from
http://www.dickblick.com/items/30541...FUdxQgodb3YARg
lamiskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:10 AM   #6
lamiskool
Wannabe Guru
 
lamiskool's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 1,145
Default

nvm found out that the man himself AaronT over in APC is seeling all three, ima just get it from him to be safe
lamiskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012