String algae has ruined my life.
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Algae


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 11:22 PM   #1
Lil' Swimz$
Wannabe Guru
 
Lil' Swimz$'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 1,157
Default

String algae has ruined my life.


String algae is causing me to break down. I love my tank so much and coming home from school seeing all the plants smothered in string algae breaks my heart. I cleaned out most of it and all the plants' bottoms are completely dead. What happened! Things I changed differently:

~Switched out a 6500k to a 10,000k, so now I now I have a 6500k and a 10,000k.

~Added some plants, that quickly melted. Have been doing waterchanges every other day since then.

And that's it! Please help me. What should I do! I'm going to switch out the 10,000k for a 6500k because I am afraid it was that that caused it.

EDIT: Forgot to mention I run co2 way above what's tolerable by fish because I don't have fish at the moment.
__________________
Ha ha, he he! DAncE whEn yoU're HAPppy! He he he! DAnce, danCE, DANCe!

20g
Lil' Swimz$ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2013, 11:45 PM   #2
10gallonplanted
Wannabe Guru
 
10gallonplanted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gainesville, GA
Posts: 1,685
Default

Has to be the bulb change. Try switching back and id even go as far as throwing all the plants out.
10gallonplanted is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 12:32 AM   #3
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

10,000k may not be exactly optimal. But I'd say if it caused this big of a problem, then it was just what pushed the tank over the edge; and you have other, more severe problems.

Did you replace the ferts you removed with all those extra water changes?

Why are you running CO2 so high? What's your pH?
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 12:51 AM   #4
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,522
Default

Lack of nutes from all the w/c's? Caused an imbalance?
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 01:09 AM   #5
gnelahc
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Green bay wi
Posts: 54
Default

I too ran 1 6500k bulb and a 10000k bulb and did have a small outbreak of string algae. I pull them out whenever they grow long enough to pull but the growth had slowed but is still present. It's either the 2 dufferent bulbs or maybe excess nutrients as I do have 3 other types of algae in there do I would also like to know what it is.
gnelahc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 01:57 AM   #6
Lil' Swimz$
Wannabe Guru
 
Lil' Swimz$'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 1,157
Default

To answer questions: I ran co2 so high because I'm afraid of algae lol.
Yes I did replace ferts after water changes. I thought it would help slow or stop the algae! What can I do to kill the algae that is still there?
__________________
Ha ha, he he! DAncE whEn yoU're HAPppy! He he he! DAnce, danCE, DANCe!

20g
Lil' Swimz$ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 02:40 AM   #7
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

How do u know the co2 is too high? This is 90% of all algae issues. So the question has to be asked
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:04 AM   #8
n00dl3
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (91/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
How do u know the co2 is too high? This is 90% of all algae issues. So the question has to be asked
1+ co2 is usually culprit for algae. Have you always have algae in the past? Does ALL your plants sway? even the lower leaves?
n00dl3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:46 AM   #9
Lil' Swimz$
Wannabe Guru
 
Lil' Swimz$'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 1,157
Default

Snails suffocate in the tank and yes the plants sway and I use a 4dH drop checker and its on yellow.
__________________
Ha ha, he he! DAncE whEn yoU're HAPppy! He he he! DAnce, danCE, DANCe!

20g
Lil' Swimz$ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:47 AM   #10
Lil' Swimz$
Wannabe Guru
 
Lil' Swimz$'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 1,157
Default

I have had 0% algae and great plant growth up until now. So it has to be the light I didn't even think of that.
__________________
Ha ha, he he! DAncE whEn yoU're HAPppy! He he he! DAnce, danCE, DANCe!

20g
Lil' Swimz$ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:48 AM   #11
DarkCobra
Planted Tank Guru
 
DarkCobra's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 3,349
Default

Do you know the tank pH?
DarkCobra is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 04:46 AM   #12
uberape
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: edinburgh
Posts: 42
Default

hair algae thrives on high oxygen i think. I have quite a tall 30g so i need to pump oxygen for some dwarf cichlids at the bottom, but the hair algae just devestates all around where the bubbles are breaking the surface. ive got this plant that helps out compete it a little and it has thin leaves and grows like a mother f,, ill try to find the name, its like purple'green, with needle leaves. my 2 cents. i bloody hate that algae though, hate it.

i found this online havent tried it but will: Barley emits a certain type of enzymes that suppresses the growth of string algae. You can for instance use barley bales or barley extract. Since it only suppresses the growth of string algae, barley will never remove existing algae from the pond or aquarium. Don’t loose heart if it takes some time for the barley to start showing results; it can take several weeks before the enzymes have been thoroughly distributed to the entire pond or aquarium. You can increase the speed by placing barley in parts of the pond or aquarium where the current is strong.
uberape is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 01:09 AM   #13
happi
Planted Tank Guru
 
happi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Send a message via Yahoo to happi
Default

how is the flow? i can also agree on brighter light causng this algae along with extra doses of Fe.
__________________
happi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 02:12 AM   #14
wheatiesl337
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (20/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 354
Default

I would posit that too much light is the cause of the majority of algea issues.

You only posted color temp on your lighting, so it makes it hard to judge, but you could be blasting your tank with way too much light. Access to a PAR meter?
wheatiesl337 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2013, 03:15 AM   #15
Lil' Swimz$
Wannabe Guru
 
Lil' Swimz$'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 1,157
Default

pH is at 6.2 and the gH and kH are both at 2. Light is a 2x T5HO 24" and I think 24watts each and are 16" above the bottom of the tank. On for 8 hours a day.
__________________
Ha ha, he he! DAncE whEn yoU're HAPppy! He he he! DAnce, danCE, DANCe!

20g
Lil' Swimz$ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012