Wood covered with something after moving location of tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 07:40 AM   #1
ilaizm
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 67
Default

Wood covered with something after moving location of tank


Hi,

I moved my 95G tank to my new home. It has now been set up in my new home for 2.5 weeks. Kept the same light conditions & ferts. Water conditions are practically the same. Kept the same filter running with the same filter media. I changed the substrate.

As can be seen from the pic, all wood is covered with a layer of something. The wood is the same wood I used in my old home. In my old home I didn't have this layer. Any ideas as to why it came up and what I can do to remove it?

thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wood.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	205.8 KB
ID:	68098  

ilaizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2013, 12:16 PM   #2
shiloh
Planted Member
 
shiloh's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 194
Default

I'm thinking maybe a diatom outbreak from the new substrate? Adding new substrate often introduces a lot of silicates.
__________________
shiloh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012