SOLVED: CyberPower UPS + Rena XP3 (XP-L) = No Good?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2013, 09:33 PM   #1
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Exclamation

SOLVED: CyberPower UPS + Rena XP3 (XP-L) = No Good?


I have two CyberPower 1500AVR UPSs that I use for computers.
I just hooked my aquarium equipment (2x Rena XP3) into one of the UPS and decided to do a power outage test and was very disappointed.

When I unplug the UPS power cord from the wall outlet it switched to a battery backup and both filters started making ‘scratching’ noise and the outflow was down to almost 0.

I tried the second CyberPower UPS – same results. I’m glad I tested this now…

Are CyberPower UPSs not good for this kind of application?

SOLVED: Rena XP3s are working fine with CyberPower PFC compatible Pure sine wave (PFCLCD) UPS!

Last edited by Bubba_Shrimp; 01-23-2013 at 10:21 PM.. Reason: Problem solved
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2013, 10:57 PM   #2
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Just tested Rena XP3 with an old APC ES 725 - same problem. What the heck?
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:12 PM   #3
scbrooks87
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 214
Default

Oh man I remember back in my reefing days hearing that battery backups are not good for aquarium equipment... I am trying to remember why for the life of me, has something to do with the way the battery delivers the power or something. I'll do a little research, see what I can find.

-Scott
scbrooks87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:17 PM   #4
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scbrooks87 View Post
Oh man I remember back in my reefing days hearing that battery backups are not good for aquarium equipment... I am trying to remember why for the life of me, has something to do with the way the battery delivers the power or something. I'll do a little research, see what I can find.

-Scott
The output wave most likely. It has to be a sine wave and CyberPower supposedly has simulated sine wave… I’m scratching my head at the moment…
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:23 PM   #5
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (107/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,191
Default

You need to make sure they are line interactive ups. I use them and have some alpha tech battery back ups for my tanks and they last about 45 min. I am about to buy a generator


Sent from my iPad 3 using Tapatalk HD
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:29 PM   #6
scbrooks87
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba_Shrimp View Post
The output wave most likely. It has to be a sine wave and CyberPower supposedly has simulated sine wave… I’m scratching my head at the moment…
This is pretty much EXACTLY what I found. Here's a forum post from a similar question...

"Being an Electrical Engineer, I know that most battery backup systems that you can buy in your local Wal-Mart or Target stores (APC comes to mind) that are strictly battery backup will provide essentially a square wave output when operating (versus a sine wave from the power company), and most pump equipment could potentially be damaged under such a power source - they're just not designed to operate on that type of power. So I would think that at most, you would just want to select one power head to put on battery backup and make sure you have enough established Live Rock in the system to support biological conversion during an outage."

This isn't my knowledge, just someone else who has a much better understanding lol.

They further went on to say:

"If you wanted to run the main pump off a backup system, I would think the ONLY way to do it would be to do it right, and buy a "True" Online Double-Conversion UPS. This device takes the input from the power company, converts it to DC, then back to AC to the equipment it supplies power to. The batteries are charged on the DC side. This type of unit provides a nice clean sine wave (it also cleans up the utility power signal so you will extend the life of your equipment) but it also costs quite a bit - usually $300 to $500. You will usually get longer running time also, since these are designed to keep a larger piece of equipment running, such as a computer server long enough to keep the system running during a short-term outage, and with enough time to perform a proper system shut-down once the batteries start to run out."

Hope any of that helps
-Scott
scbrooks87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:59 PM   #7
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbarbee54 View Post
You need to make sure they are line interactive ups. I use them and have some alpha tech battery back ups for my tanks and they last about 45 min. I am about to buy a generator


Sent from my iPad 3 using Tapatalk HD
This is from my CyberPower 1500AVR description: "Line interactive, AVR and GreenPower Corrects brownouts and overvoltage without using the battery. GreenPower UPS reduces energy consumption up to 75%".
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:01 AM   #8
BriDroid
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 348
Default

Yep, square wave and these magnet motors don't get along well.
BriDroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:13 AM   #9
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Will this work then?
http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP1.../dp/B00429N19W
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:43 AM   #10
scbrooks87
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 214
Default

That looks like it would fit the bill. Indicated it does change it back to AC power before sending it to the equipment. I personally don't have the electrical engineering background to say from my own knowledge that it will work, but it seems to me that it matches the description of the person I quoted.
scbrooks87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:10 AM   #11
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

I don't think that's what you want. According to the description you want Online Double-Conversion UPS.

http://cyberpower.advizia.com/CyberP...CyberPower_UPS
__________________
UDGags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:26 AM   #12
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Anybody has $600 laying around for me to test it out?

Darn, these things are expensive... How do hobbyists go around the backup power problem for their filters/pumps?
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:29 AM   #13
UDGags
aka Nick
 
UDGags's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to UDGags Send a message via Yahoo to UDGags
Default

I think most would have a back-up generator. If you have enough money to invest in a large high-tech reef or even discus tank you most likely have enough money to install a generator.

UPS aren't going to last for a long power outage anyways.
__________________
UDGags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:26 AM   #14
Bubba_Shrimp
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bubba_Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (26/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UDGags View Post
I think most would have a back-up generator. If you have enough money to invest in a large high-tech reef or even discus tank you most likely have enough money to install a generator.

UPS aren't going to last for a long power outage anyways.
Which generator would you recommend? I see gas/gasoline/diesel powered... tons of options out there.
Bubba_Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:32 AM   #15
scbrooks87
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: El Cajon
Posts: 214
Default

I'd go for a plain gas generator, so long as you have an outdoor space for it to sit, and enough gas, you could keep your tank running indefinitely when the power goes out.

Only issue with a generator is that even when not in use, they have to be serviced regularly, otherwise they are likely to not work when you need them.

-Scott
scbrooks87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012