Filter is sucking up substrate!
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 11:01 AM   #1
NinaS
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 18
Exclamation

Filter is sucking up substrate!


I have a very light, porous substrate and I only set up my tank yesterday, so naturally a lot of the substrate is still floating at the top. The problem is, when I turn the filter on loads of the substrate is sucked into the filter, and I'm afraid it might block it. So I haven't been running the filter and I know this can stunt the cycling process especially as I have introduced bacteria from an established tank. Any advice on what to do? I have many plants in my tank.
NinaS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2012, 11:33 AM   #2
Spiritwind
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 233
Default

Use a prefilter on the intake?
Spiritwind is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
zico_aqua
Planted Member
 
zico_aqua's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: India
Posts: 208
Default

put a sponge on the intake of the filter pores. Won't suck anything in
__________________
Abhradip Choudhuri

Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement.


Few of my works
zico_aqua is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 01:19 PM   #4
NinaS
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 18
Exclamation Filter too strong

It appears as though my filter is too strong, it's stirring up the substrate quite a bit. There's no way of turning it down, how can I reduce the flow? Or will I need to buy a new filter? My tank is 60l and the filter is the powerbio 700. It came with the tank.
NinaS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 02:22 PM   #5
zico_aqua
Planted Member
 
zico_aqua's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: India
Posts: 208
Default

one thing you can do is..stuff it with media. but I do not know how the make of the filter is so would suggest someone with experience with the same should look into this.
__________________
Abhradip Choudhuri

Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement.


Few of my works
zico_aqua is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 03:44 PM   #6
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (98/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,390
Default

http://www.amazon.com/Pre-Filter-Spo...-filter+sponge
hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,988
Default

Cut the intake tube shorter so it is farther away from the substrate.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 11:03 PM   #8
FlyingSheep
Algae Grower
 
FlyingSheep's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: 65251
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinaS View Post
It appears as though my filter is too strong, it's stirring up the substrate quite a bit. There's no way of turning it down, how can I reduce the flow? Or will I need to buy a new filter? My tank is 60l and the filter is the powerbio 700. It came with the tank.
What you can do, is like others say, put a sponge filter on the intake to prevent the substrate. I have one with my shrimp tank, and they love the silly thing. They dine off of it more than they do to my moss.

As for the flow, I have a 10 gallon tank with just enough gravel (I'm serious, JUST enough) to cover the bottom so that I don't see glass. It's not for planting or anything, I just don't want to see the bottom. Plus I read that shrimp won't be stressed with dark substrate.

Anyway, my filter will push a giant glass hole in my tank, so what I did was take a cheap plastic plant and stuck it right under the flow. It dispersed the water so that it doesn't even touch the gravel. If that doesn't work, you can actually take excess sponge filter and try and fit it into the flow of the filter. I've tried doing that as an alternative to the plastic plant (I believe all plastic plants are the devil and shouldn't be named), and it worked. Somewhat, it's just not the prettiest thing in the world to see a giant sponge hanging out of a filter. Be sure not to stop up the flow to where it just barrels through though, you need to leave gaps of water. But for my filter, it worked somewhat.
__________________
Trained in EMS, I can save a person from death and/or injury. I cannot, however, save a man from his own stupidity.
FlyingSheep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 11:16 PM   #9
fusiongt
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Menlo Park, Ca
Posts: 812
Default

Easy solution, new substrate.
__________________
fusiongt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2012, 12:48 AM   #10
R.sok
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wa state
Posts: 362
Default

Filter sponge on the inlet. I use it on my eclipse tank. you can either go buy a pre filter sponge, but I just ended up taking apart a sponge filter & jamming it into the intake. also when you install the sponge you don't want to puch it all the way into the tube, just 1/4 or halfway is fine
R.sok is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 07:08 PM   #11
NinaS
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 18
Default

I got a new filter, it was just to strong and ended up breaking anyway. I have the arcadia arc 60l. I ended up getting the fluval U2, heard it was a great little filter. The thing is, it's so quite and gentle I'm not sure if it's running properly... but my tank looks great.
NinaS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
cycling, filter, new tank, plants, substrate

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012