Setting up a 2.5g long. How do I filter?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Planted Nano Tanks


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2013, 05:46 PM   #1
we4wieners
Planted Member
 
we4wieners's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlantic City,NJ
Posts: 202
Default

Setting up a 2.5g long. How do I filter?


I have an AC30 that would be sufficient. However, will it be too powerful. The tank is 5"Hx18"Lx7"D. So it is a relatively shallow tank. If its too powerful it'll disturb the substrate. Id like to stick to a HOB. Will the AC30 work?
__________________
If the only tool you carry is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail.
we4wieners is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2013, 05:59 PM   #2
tekkguy
Planted Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 164
Default

That Aqua Clear 30 would be a hot mess.

You might try a Red Sea Nano if you can find one (I don't think they make them anymore) or a Azoo Palm Filter. I think the Azoo is less than $10.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 06:53 PM   #3
FriendsNotFood
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: West Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,012
Default

Azoo Palms are the way to go IMHO. I've had them for years on my 2.5 gallon tanks.
FriendsNotFood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:02 PM   #4
@marko@
Planted Tank Guru
 
@marko@'s Avatar
 
PTrader: (57/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: livingston, nj
Posts: 5,679
Default

azoo palm.
you can order them at dr. foster and smith

the media you get is crap, but its easy to replace with your own filter floss and put some biomedia on the bottom.
__________________
@marko@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:11 PM   #5
Disher
Planted Member
 
Disher's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 185
Default

If it was me, I'd setup just a sponge filter or a single air stone.
Disher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:02 PM   #6
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,353
Default

Is your tank the Deep Blue Professional 3-gallon tank?

If so, the AC30 will be fine. You'll just have to use a Dremel to cut down the intake pipe, turn the flow all the way down and fill it full with filter floss. If it's still too much flow, you can swap out the AC30 impeller for the AC20. I use 20s on my 3gal tanks and love them.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:40 AM   #7
tex627
Sponsor
 
tex627's Avatar
 
PTrader: (21/92%)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 139
Default

Have you ever tried a Tom's Mini Canister? It works great on small tanks as well!

Justin
__________________

^^ Click above to visit Aqua Design Innovations, Follow our Twitter, and Like our FB Page ^^



tex627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:17 AM   #8
skindy
Planted Member
 
skindy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 178
Default

I haven't tried it personally but have read some positive feedback about the AZOO Mignon 60. It's about $14 on Amazon!

Also, AC represent! Lived there all my life until I moved to CA.
skindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:40 PM   #9
we4wieners
Planted Member
 
we4wieners's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlantic City,NJ
Posts: 202
Default

I currently am using a the deep blue nano microfilter HOB on my 1.5g. It works great but no water movement around the tank.
__________________
If the only tool you carry is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail.
we4wieners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:47 PM   #10
we4wieners
Planted Member
 
we4wieners's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlantic City,NJ
Posts: 202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
Is your tank the Deep Blue Professional 3-gallon tank?

If so, the AC30 will be fine. You'll just have to use a Dremel to cut down the intake pipe, turn the flow all the way down and fill it full with filter floss. If it's still too much flow, you can swap out the AC30 impeller for the AC20. I use 20s on my 3gal tanks and love them.
Yes, it is the DB 3g. How do I dremel down the intake pipe? I like to overfiltrate on all of my tanks.
__________________
If the only tool you carry is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail.
we4wieners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:48 PM   #11
we4wieners
Planted Member
 
we4wieners's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlantic City,NJ
Posts: 202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skindy View Post
I haven't tried it personally but have read some positive feedback about the AZOO Mignon 60. It's about $14 on Amazon!

Also, AC represent! Lived there all my life until I moved to CA.
Where in AC and whats ur name? I grew up in the city.
__________________
If the only tool you carry is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail.
we4wieners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:08 PM   #12
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,353
Default

You use a Dremel and cut it. Could also use a hacksaw to cut it to the length you'll need so it fits in your tank.

Quote:
Originally Posted by we4wieners View Post
Yes, it is the DB 3g. How do I dremel down the intake pipe? I like to overfiltrate on all of my tanks.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:19 PM   #13
we4wieners
Planted Member
 
we4wieners's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlantic City,NJ
Posts: 202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhatshocked View Post
You use a Dremel and cut it. Could also use a hacksaw to cut it to the length you'll need so it fits in your tank.
Oh, I see. Just cut the length. What about intake or the return? Will the return be too powerful? I guess I could somehow bog down the return in the tank.
__________________
If the only tool you carry is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail.
we4wieners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:22 PM   #14
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (426/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,353
Default

As I mentioned above, you can pack the filter full of floss and other media, you can use a smaller impeller and there are various other methods if there's too much flow. You can even put some sort of a baffle on the outflow to dampen things (there are several versions on the forum to give you an idea of what to create if necessary).

I'm betting just turning down the flow all the way will be sufficient.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 06:18 AM   #15
skindy
Planted Member
 
skindy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by we4wieners View Post
Where in AC and whats ur name? I grew up in the city.

Ohh nice! My name is Cindy. I lived on Brighton Ave. all my life but depending on our ages we might not know each other. I was the ACHS c/o 2004 :P
skindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012