Superior Filtration, or Superior pain in my Butt. - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2013, 01:26 AM   #16
Bear Sage
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Bear Sage's Avatar
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 312
Default

I have the exact same filter, on my 29 with a sponge on the intake,4 in my bottom basket, a ton of lava rock, a mound of purgien, a rex grigg style reactor, stiff HD hoses and a valve half way closed and my flow is good. That being said I do have a protein film. I never did when my 306 was on this tank.
Will, your filter is all busted. Contact Rena.
__________________
Bear Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2013, 03:13 AM   #17
mohican
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 33
Default

I too have a surface Skimmer on my xp3 and you need to adjust the dial on the Skimmer each time you turn it off/on. it shouldn't be the filter itself. also, filter failure is unlikely cause of death for your inhabitants, unless water quality that bad to begin with.


Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android
mohican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:06 PM   #18
GDP
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 943
Default

Probably a bad pump. Bad as in its not spinning fast enough.
__________________
Shrimptopia
Shrimp Town (20G)
(3G) Shrimpsville
Canon Pimp Club #026
Disclaimer: Take my advice with a grain of salt. I only give advice based on first hand knowledge or from the knowledge of others. If im wrong please let me know.
GDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:55 PM   #19
Waters
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquatic Delight View Post
that canister filter i have is for up to 75g so filtration is not an issue for me. i have been attempting to keep reticulated hillstream loaches but every time this stupid canister loses flow i lose RHLs. and my bamboo shrimp also enjoy the high flow.

i am not in the market for/do no have the money to purchase more or even a different canister, all i want is for the product that i have already purchased to work as intended.





i do have a ball valve on it to adjust flow, but i've never actually closed it. how often do you take off the hoses?
I have never taken off the hoses in the 6 months that it has been running.
Waters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 07:05 PM   #20
Aquatic Delight
H is for Hillstream
 
Aquatic Delight's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 2,101
Default

is the impeller supposed to free spin or is it supposed to be locked in with the magnet?
__________________
Will
________________________________

Hillstream/Boreno Loach Refuge

A Light Heart is Better than a Heavy Wallet.
Aquatic Delight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012