Seeding Sponge filter
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 07:43 PM   #1
Hmoobthor
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 796
Default

Seeding Sponge filter


so i got some ATI sponge filter coming in the mail on monday and want to start using it right away..

It will be used in a 20gallon long..

right now I have a canister running on it and the tank is well mature...with mosses and shrimps..

the question is, do i need to run both at the same time to seed the sponge?
I plan on selling the canister once I start using the spong..also does it matter where the sponge is place? I like it in the middle of the tank but can i put it in the corner of the tank? I order two but plan to use only one....

Don't ask me why I don't just keep the canister.....( I just don't feel it's worth it) plus I want to grow some floating plants to absorb nitrate....I can't grow floating plant with canisters at all..lol
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club #506
Hmoobthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2012, 07:56 PM   #2
amberoze
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
amberoze's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: lexington, sc
Posts: 432
Default

Why can't you grow floating plants with the canister?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
amberoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:17 PM   #3
Hmoobthor
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amberoze View Post
Why can't you grow floating plants with the canister?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
i try man...they have not grow at all

but in my sponge filter with llow low current, flourishing!!
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club #506
Hmoobthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:29 PM   #4
Soothing Shrimp
Planted Tank Guru
 
Soothing Shrimp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (131/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,606
Default

Floaters often don't like moving water. Go figure.
__________________
RAOK Club and BBRR Club! My thinking has been invert-ed!
Soothing Shrimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:41 PM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,277
Default

If you have a high nitrate level then the plants are not enough to keep the ammonia under control, so getting more plants (especially plants with the aerial advantage) is a good idea.
Good to be concerned about the nitrogen cycle bacteria.

By running both filters at the same time, or at least keeping all the media in the tank the bacteria will spread out its population over all the media. Then you can slowly remove the media that will be sold with the can and the remaining media will grow more of the bacteria. Over a period of not less than a month you can get a pretty good population on the new media, and have the can decommissioned for sale.

Another way (faster). Buy a bottle of cycle bacteria that includes Nitrospira species of bacteria. Dose the new filter with this and just do the swap. Remove the can. Give the filter media a quick rinse in water removed from the tank, but keep it in a humid location to keep the bacteria alive. Monitor the tank, and within 24-48 hours if there is more than just a little trace of ammonia then the Nitrospira might be dead. FAST! Put the can back on the tank. If there is just a little ammonia and it goes away then the Nitrospira have taken over and you can go ahead and fully wash out the canister filter media.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:04 AM   #6
Hmoobthor
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soothing Shrimp View Post
Floaters often don't like moving water. Go figure.
ya...try many times with spray bar and came to the conclusion that they just hate moving water....

I just really like floater to absorb some nitrate... i have a 10g wtih duckweed and water lettuce and that tank is 100% 0 nitrate! Brigth yellow on the scale! NO water change...i did this 3 weeks back foll0wing a old thread about "no water change"

while the rest are 10-20 ppm.

I can let the sponge run in the tank for 1-3 weeks ...that should give it enough time to seed.
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club #506
Hmoobthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:34 AM   #7
Fdsh5
Wannabe Guru
 
Fdsh5's Avatar
 
PTrader: (43/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,242
Default

I would just let them both run for 2 weeks and pull out the other one. Have you tried to make a water boom to stop the surface flow. I'm sure someone can recommend something to use for that.
Fdsh5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012