Adding substrate?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Substrate


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 10:06 PM   #1
The Dude
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St. Pete Fl
Posts: 828
Default

Adding substrate?


My shrimp tank has a shallow mixture of potting soil, Eco Complete, and Floramax. I'd like to cover it with black sand. Can I clean the black sand and add it to one area and slowly spread it to the tank with the shrimp still inside and everything running??
__________________
Fraternity of Dirt
Just because its dirt doesn't make it low tech
Member #13

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=678009
The Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2012, 01:08 AM   #2
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,967
Default

You probably can. I would rinse it really well. Then put it in the tank in a way that you are not dumping it through the water.
One way is to put the sand in a cup and pour it out where you want it, then spread it that last bit.
Another way is to use a tube, like a section of PVC pipe to guide the sand to where you want it. Pouring it through the tube a little at a time.

Stop at any point the water is getting cloudy, and add more after it clears.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:45 AM   #3
The Dude
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St. Pete Fl
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana View Post
You probably can. I would rinse it really well. Then put it in the tank in a way that you are not dumping it through the water.
One way is to put the sand in a cup and pour it out where you want it, then spread it that last bit.
Another way is to use a tube, like a section of PVC pipe to guide the sand to where you want it. Pouring it through the tube a little at a time.

Stop at any point the water is getting cloudy, and add more after it clears.
Thank you very much for the advice. I really appreciate it
__________________
Fraternity of Dirt
Just because its dirt doesn't make it low tech
Member #13

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=678009
The Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:19 AM   #4
R.sok
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wa state
Posts: 362
Default

You can get one of those plastic funnels with the long hose & use that
R.sok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012