Magnesium difficiency?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 01:56 AM   #1
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Magnesium difficiency?


My leafs on my amazon are curling up..
Wondering if i need to add magnesium.

Another question only way to know my calcium and magnesium is with a tester right?

How do i add magnesium or calcium to my aquarium?

Using pfertz [m], [n], [p] & [k]
Dosing flourish iron, and flourish excel aswell.
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2012, 02:57 AM   #2
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

its very rare that u find a magnesium deficiency.
epsom salt is a quick way to find out as it is magnesium sulfate
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:05 AM   #3
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Oh really? Any idea why leafs are curly

http://m.walmart.ca/en/ip/rougier-epsom-salt/10031876

That epsom salt?
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:07 AM   #4
Rainer
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1,611
Default

If this is a high light tank, it's likely insufficient CO2. I had a similar problem and thread a few months ago.
__________________
29g high tech, 10g low tech halfmoon, and please see my 5g crescent journal.
Rainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:10 AM   #5
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecialEffect View Post
Oh really? Any idea why leafs are curly

http://m.walmart.ca/en/ip/rougier-epsom-salt/10031876

That epsom salt?
Yes, that is Epsom salt (magnesium sulfate (heptahydrate)).

You can dose calcium with calcium sulfate (available at hydroponics stores).

Though, if Montreal water is hard, it is likely not that either.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:08 AM   #6
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

I dont know how montreal water is... However ill let you know tomorow... My order should arrive tomorow! Gh/kh test with other goodies
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:36 PM   #7
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecialEffect View Post
Oh really? Any idea why leafs are curly

http://m.walmart.ca/en/ip/rougier-epsom-salt/10031876

That epsom salt?
as anotherm ember posted. its likely co2....

the nutrient tree falls as such
Light
^ ^
Co2
^ ^ ^
Fertilizers

so if u don't have enough co2 for the amount of light u have, u will have problems
from there if u do have enough co2 then fertilizers are an issue this includes magnesium
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:46 PM   #8
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Blazingwolf View Post
as anotherm ember posted. its likely co2....

the nutrient tree falls as such
Light
^ ^
Co2
^ ^ ^
Fertilizers

so if u don't have enough co2 for the amount of light u have, u will have problems
from there if u do have enough co2 then fertilizers are an issue this includes magnesium
Ahhh! Co2! Idk how much more i can pump lol!
I got a 405, and a G3 plus a AC30 power head(getting replaced by a hydor 750 today) for flow...
Co2 checker is yellow at mid-day or an hour early.
And my bubble counter, well you cant count it... Its a stream lol.
My lights are a maxspect razor 160W.
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:46 PM   #9
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

are ur fish stressed? if not likely u can add more
it may be more effective to reduce lighting
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #10
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Nah, they look fine... My 3 flying foxes swim around eatting... My 9" red belly stays in his corner and just chills like usual. With his random bursts of energy whn someone walks by begging for food.

While i wait for my gh/kh test kit i also ordered a fluval Q2 to oxygenate the water while lights are at 1% moon light... Probably going to have it run untill my "sun rise"

And for my lighting... Idk... EVERYTHING has exploaded in color and growth ever since i got these lights... 4 years an never seen such color and growth... Pearling to a hole new level aswell
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:39 PM   #11
danielt
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In an aquarium nearby
Posts: 447
Default

Get a hold of your kH value. If the kH is high you don't have actual CO2 in your water. You will need to lower kH to have more CO2 available to your plants. You either lower kH or increase CO2 input.
danielt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 10:32 PM   #12
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Well... Got my kh/gh kits... Tested my water...

Montreal:
KH: 7
GH: 8

Aquarium (based on mid-day of co2)
GH: 9
KH: 6
PH: 6.4
Nitrate: 8...between 5 and 10
Phosphates: 0.5

How's the tests?
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:26 AM   #13
danielt
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: In an aquarium nearby
Posts: 447
Default

kH higher than 4-5 is "high" for a planted tank in my opinion. Peat or blackwater extract will lower your kH and the pH as well since there will be less acid buffering.
danielt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 12:13 PM   #14
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecialEffect View Post
Well... Got my kh/gh kits... Tested my water...

Montreal:
KH: 7
GH: 8

Aquarium (based on mid-day of co2)
GH: 9
KH: 6
PH: 6.4
Nitrate: 8...between 5 and 10
Phosphates: 0.5

How's the tests?
this is acceptable for most plants
some sensitive species will do better with lower KH.. but they will grow just fine in higher KH, just likely not to grow as fast, or as colorful
again ur plants should grow JUST FINE
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:32 PM   #15
SpecialEffect
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 91
Default

So to lower kh... Peat or black water extract? I dont want to lower my ph though
SpecialEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012