upgrading lighting
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
hanssg
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: nelson lancashire uk
Posts: 2
Default

upgrading lighting


hello guys this is my first post here hope you can help.i have a 63 litre tank with one t8 light tube this cant be changed as i have the rekord 600 tank looking to upgrade to a t5 canopy with 2 24 watt tubes will this be ok would it be classed as low medium or high lighting thanks in advance.
hanssg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2012, 10:11 PM   #2
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,329
Default

Rather than thinking about lighting in terms of wattage, it is best to think about it in terms of photosynthetically active radiation (PAR).

Here is a good article written by Hoppy regarding the topic:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=105774

You can determine how much light you will have at substrate level using the chart.
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:59 AM   #3
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

It depends on the height of the tank, and the quality of the brand of fixture.

You should find your answers in the article above though^^
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:59 PM   #4
hanssg
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: nelson lancashire uk
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for replying guys my tank is 12 deep and my light fixture would be 4 inch above tank.
hanssg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:10 AM   #5
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

48 watts over only 16 inches seems like it would make it high light
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:15 AM   #6
mitchfish9
Planted Tank Nation
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 886
Default

Depends on the brand of light though though
mitchfish9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:43 AM   #7
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 9,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanssg View Post
thanks for replying guys my tank is 12 deep and my light fixture would be 4 inch above tank.
You will need to specify if you are using T5NO or T5HO as well.

As mentioned, the lighting fixture that you are using will also affect the amount of lighting you have (i.e. whether they have reflectors, etc)

Here is a more up-to-date guide written by Hoppy for your perusal.

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184368
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012