Will an old filter help a new nano cycle quicker?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 03:35 AM   #1
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Question

Will an old filter help a new nano cycle quicker?


It was time to change the aquoen filter in my 10 gallon which is cycled. I am starting a little 1 gallon bowl type setup for a few shrimp. It hasn't cycled yet but I was wondering if I put my old filter into the water for a day or so if it will help speed up the process? Or will it screw things up in any way?

Thanks!
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
ChadRamsey
Wannabe Guru
 
ChadRamsey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (56/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 1,392
Default

yes it will help a great deal. You could actually just use the "old" filters media in the new one.
__________________


There are 2 types of people on this forum. Those that have algae, and those that lie and say they don't.
ChadRamsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:36 PM   #3
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Default

Thanks! I figured it was a simple answer like this but I wanted to be sure.

The filter is an Aqueon (the cartridge with carbon in the middle that slides into a HOB) so I just have it resting in my bowl to hopefully get some BB into the system.
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 05:16 PM   #4
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,143
Default

Do you have any circulation in the bowl?
If so, aim it at the used media. The bacteria need plenty of oxygen.

Are there shrimp in the bowl? If there is no livestock then keep the bacteria fed with ammonia or fish food. Even a bit of shrimp from the grocery store.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:45 PM   #5
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Default

There is no circulation but there is ammonia, nitrites and nitrates in the bowl....all 3 were pretty high when I last tested. I think the ammonia reading is from the MGOCPM and snail poop. I suppose I could feed it with some fish flakes?!

And no shrimp or anything in there yet just a few snails.
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:04 PM   #6
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,143
Default

With no livestock, do the fishless cycle. You can indeed use fish flakes as a source of ammonia. It takes a few days for them to get broken down, but it sounds like the soil is adding ammonia to the system, too.
If you check the ammonia daily, and it is around 3 ppm that is a good level to grow nitrifying bacteria.
Adding some circulation would sure help. Got a little, tiny air bubbler?
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:19 PM   #7
golfer_d
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 181
Default

Hmmm no I don't but I suppose I could get one.

I have tested the water and it has tested for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates so it is going....was just hoping this would speed up the process a little.

I will check it again tonight when I am home.
golfer_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:37 AM   #8
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 7,143
Default

Adding the cycled media will sure help. Will you be leaving this media in the system? Or will you be removing it?
If you do not plan on keeping the media in the system then I would slosh it around in the water a lot, and if it is sponge or floss, wring it out. Do all you can to dislodge the bacteria and drop it into the bowl.
I sure would add some kind of water movement while you are trying to grow the bacteria. They are high oxygen organisms.
Diana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012