75g planted troubles
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 02:19 AM   #1
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

75g planted troubles


Hello,
I had a 55g low tech tank with a dual t5 light system. I moved and decided to upgrade to a 75g. I also got a 4 bulb power compact light system which put me in the high wpg (3.5wpg). For substrate I have about 45 to 60lb of fluorite mixed with red river clay and capped with regular gravel. I water dose iron and Co2 and use root tabs monthly with plus iron. I have lights on for 8-9 hours. for the first 4 hours i only use the first two bulbs to help with hard spot green algae( my light has two switches so that 2 bulbs are on or all 4 on at once.) from my previous 55g i tried to grow some sunset hygro but it just turned green, when i tranfered everything over about 2 months ago i thought it would change red. But it hasnt its grown alot since then but it only turns pinkish at the top. I bought some red ludwigia to try out the ludwigia hasnt grown much in the 3 weeks ive had it only maybe a inch or two. would i need a co2 reactor to help my plants out? Ive seen them at big als and they run in the hundreds any cheap solution?

thanks in advance, Tyler
chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2012, 02:36 AM   #2
HD Blazingwolf
Planted Tank Guru
 
HD Blazingwolf's Avatar
 
PTrader: (8/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,907
Default

sounds a lot like more than just co2, but it would be an excellent start.
ludwigia species i have in 3 weeks grow pretty quickly. like 2-3 inches per week for the slowest one

more info on what type of light and bulbs u have would also be helpful
__________________
HD Blazingwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:02 AM   #3
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

the light is a coral life deluxe series compact florescent and I'm using the bulbs it came with, which are 6700k each. I dose the water with API co2 ever other day with a full cap which is 10ml.
chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:21 AM   #4
DerekFF
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stockton,CA
Posts: 860
Default

CO2 we use is a gas only (can be other forms but not for aquarium use). Your just dosing some sort of liquid carbon source which im not convinced really does anything. 3.5wpg doesnt mean high light either. Light height above the tank, reflector quality effect light distribution. It sounds like the ferts are there, not sure why things arent growing fast as ludwigia species usually grow very quickly. I got a 10lb co2 tank and aquatek regulator for around $120. Runs like a champ

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
DerekFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:35 AM   #5
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,496
Default

Diy brew and a Barr inspired reactor? A pump, an elbow shaped pipe and a soda bottle with the bottom romoved. The bottle traps co2 bubbles from the brew and water pours on top from the pump.
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:44 AM   #6
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

well the light is about 4 inches above the tank, and the reflectors are as good as whatever coral life uses. I've never tried DIY co2, I've heard it doesnt work good for larger tanks.
chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:32 PM   #7
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

here is a photo of the sunset hygro
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0304.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	108.1 KB
ID:	58594  

chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:27 AM   #8
Evilgrin
Planted Member
 
Evilgrin's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LawnGuyLand, NY
Posts: 170
Default

DIY CO2 is not ideal for larger tanks but at the moment you have no CO2 so some CO2 added would be beneficial. While no where near as effective as a pressurized system it costs pennies to set one up and it only adds a few more minutes to your regular tank maintenance schedule.

For larger tanks I would recommend more then 1 DIY CO2 setup, these can all be plumbed into one reactor or multiple reactors if you wish.
__________________
Canon Pimp Club #066, SunSun Pimp #75, Fraternity of Dirt #114,
DIY Stand Build -
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=193599
55G Dirted Tank Journal - http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=195173
Evilgrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:35 AM   #9
R.sok
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wa state
Posts: 362
Default

If you want to make the most use out of a diy c02 on your 75 gallon I think you should use a reactor, whether it be diy or store bought I believe it does the best at dissolving
R.sok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:36 AM   #10
R.sok
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wa state
Posts: 362
Default

I used to run 2 bottles diy c02 via diffuser.It worked great, then I tried making a diy reactor & running only one c02 & the difference was a lot better than using 2 bottles with a diffuser
R.sok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:45 AM   #11
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

so the liquid carbon is no good eh.. I guess I'll try to make two separate 2L yeast co2, one for either side of the tank, what should I use for a diffuser?
chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:25 AM   #12
R.sok
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: wa state
Posts: 362
Default

What kind of filter do you have on your tank?
R.sok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:50 PM   #13
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

I have an ehiem 2217 canister running right now
chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:16 PM   #14
HybridHerp
Planted Tank Guru
 
HybridHerp's Avatar
 
PTrader: (11/100%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 3,324
Default

are you dosing ferts at all though? CO2 is a start but without nutrients you aren't going to be getting good growth either.
__________________
My 75 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/n7zp47m
My 10 gallon High Tech Tank:http://tinyurl.com/qyf7s5o
My 5.5 gallon nano College Dorm Tank:http://tinyurl.com/p54uupj
Mom's Spec V:http://tinyurl.com/qjt3rw2
HybridHerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:19 PM   #15
chronictyler
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 13
Default

ya I dose the water with carbon every other day, and i dose iron 2 to 3 times a week. I have root tabs in the gravel monthly and I have 50-65lbs of flourite in the gravel aswelll....
chronictyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012