timers for lights
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 11:51 PM   #1
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Question

timers for lights


Are all timers the same? My work schedule is such now that my lights are on nearly 12 hrs a day. I use a 48" shop light on my low tech 125, and I'm starting to see algae on the glass as well as some hair algae within the tank. I have a Coralife on my 29 & no algae so far, but still I'd like to use a timer on it.

I see timers at Petsmart made by aquarium companies, but I work at Walmart and we have a large selection of light timers - aren't they all basically the same?
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2012, 11:57 PM   #2
Edub
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 328
Default

I grabbed a few of those 3-5 dollar timers from wal-mart and have been using them for years on my tanks with no issues. I think sometime the more expensive timers have additional features, but a lot of times you end up paying for a brand name. I just want mine to turn my lights on and off, so the cheap guys work for me.
Edub is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 12:00 AM   #3
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Default

Thanks, that's all I want, too - on & off!
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 12:33 AM   #4
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,477
Default

I have had nothing good to say about those cheap crap Brinks timers. I have gone through probably 4 of them in a year. I just keep bringing them back and exchanging them. The leds go out, or they lose time, or if you unplug them for 2 minutes they lose settings.... If I were to do it again I would avoid them like the plague. I am talking about the $5, 6, 7 ones. Emailed the company - never heard back. YMMV
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 12:59 AM   #5
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Default

We have other brands too - I'll look them over before Brinks...
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 01:48 AM   #6
ngrubich
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ngrubich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 930
Default

I have the Brinks timers on my tank and they have been working great for almost a year with no issues. Yes, you'll have to spin the timer around if it gets unplugged for extended times/there is a power outage, but that takes maybe 5-10 seconds to adjust.
ngrubich is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 01:52 AM   #7
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,477
Default

I'm sorry - I didn't specify. These are the digital units, not the mechanicals..
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 02:06 AM   #8
GraphicGr8s
Banned
 
GraphicGr8s's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: West coast of the east coast of the USA.
Posts: 2,158
Default

I use a digital timer from Lowes and HD. It's a "heavy duty commercial" unit that runs about $17. Has 2 outlets on it but I have a strip plugged in and run about 6 off that.
GraphicGr8s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 02:10 AM   #9
secuono
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
secuono's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/96%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to secuono Send a message via Yahoo to secuono
Default

I use the white and gray $10 timers. Never found a cheaper one and wouldn't use them anyway. Had my two for 2.5yrs, no issues with them.
Lowes, Walmart and Petsmart have them. Backs say "Marineland aquarium" or "aquarium" on them, depending on where you get them. Didn't realize they did until I just checked them to get a picture....

I also buy a three plug to put into the timer, since I have two fixtures on each tank.
__________________
~Arikun
Plant lady
secuono is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 04:49 AM   #10
ngrubich
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
ngrubich's Avatar
 
PTrader: (25/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by secuono View Post
I use the white and gray $10 timers. Never found a cheaper one and wouldn't use them anyway. Had my two for 2.5yrs, no issues with them.
Lowes, Walmart and Petsmart have them. Backs say "Marineland aquarium" or "aquarium" on them, depending on where you get them. Didn't realize they did until I just checked them to get a picture....

I also buy a three plug to put into the timer, since I have two fixtures on each tank.
Those essentially use the same tech as the Brinks models, just not labeled as an aquarium brand. The nice thing about these timers is the plug is down from the dial, where the Brinks one has the plug on the side, making them difficult to use in the surge protectors that have the side-by-side plugs.
ngrubich is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 05:57 AM   #11
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,477
Default

These are the POS I'm talking about:




Worthless
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 06:40 AM   #12
accordztech
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,785
Default

target has good ones with 3 prongs. Its not digital so it wont reset in a power outage. They also have a button to over ride and turn on for servicing.
__________________
accordztech is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 11:26 AM   #13
rcx_sk
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aiea, Hawaii
Posts: 59
Default

I use the digital timer power strips that you can buy from Home Depot - http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UMSCovWPV8E

amazon also sells it for alittle cheaper - http://www.amazon.com/Globe-Electric...er+Strip+Timer
rcx_sk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 04:11 PM   #14
james1542
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
james1542's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WA
Posts: 506
Default

The digital ones are the worst idea ever, they don't realize that maybe it will be a dark space behind the entertainment center that it is plugged in, and oh yea you have to crawl back there and hit 100 buttons to program it. And when the power flicks off, guess whos crawling back there again! Get the brinks mechanical "mini" timers. It's like $4 for the non grounded and $5 for the grounded and you get 15 min intervals. Found at a walmart.
james1542 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2012, 04:31 PM   #15
m00se
Wannabe Guru
 
m00se's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,477
Default

I have to agree on that one. No backlight, and they're SUPPOSED to have battery backups that keep the settings for a short time WHEN THEY WORK. I'm inclined to bring these 3 back to Walmart and trade them for mechanicals. On my list of things I'll probably never get around to doing :-)
m00se is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012