Is there a way to shorten the AQ70 intake tube?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 03:58 AM   #1
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

Is there a way to shorten the AQ70 intake tube?


The tube with a Fluval pre-filter sponge on goes pretty much all the way down to the gravel of my 10g tank. I can't think of a way to shorten it though since it has a larger opening on the end that fits with the upper portion. Is there a way to shorten it?
Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2012, 04:01 AM   #2
Azarakiah
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: east syracuse NY
Posts: 251
Default

cut it and use electirical tape? lol glue it together and run silicone over it? cut it, then find some heat shrink electrical wrap and heat it in place?
Azarakiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:12 AM   #3
blink
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 564
Default

You could try cutting and crazy gluing it back together, or if you are running a sponge anyway, why not chop off the tapered strainer section of the tube, from what I can remember of the AC70 that should buy you at least 1.5"
blink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:07 PM   #4
jbrady33
Wannabe Guru
 
jbrady33's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt Laurel, NJ
Posts: 1,569
Default

what I did on my AC30:

Hacksaw to the length you want
Hacksaw slots halfway through the tube along the bottom inch (for water flow along the side, not just the bottom of the tube)
Fluval edge sponge over the tube, covering the slots
Tiny zip tie the top of sponge (not real tight, just snug)
__________________
jbrady33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:09 PM   #5
sbarbee54
The Security Dude
 
sbarbee54's Avatar
 
PTrader: (103/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Badlands
Posts: 4,172
Default

hack it and get a metal prefilter
__________________
55 Planted Rummys,2 GBR,8 Corys,4 Discus PFR Culls
Many shrimp tanks
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...half-done.html
Finnex Pimp #8
sbarbee54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 02:09 AM   #6
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

I don't... know what a metal prefilter is...

I'm gonna go with jbrady's idea it sounds like something i could do easily.
Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:56 AM   #7
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

Well I went to my father and told him exactly what to do but he started arguing about "physics" do I said JUST DO IT and left. Now I have this monstrosity.

Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012