flood light LED's - Page 7
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 02:59 AM   #91
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North NJ
Posts: 660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
powerstrips are usually about 2 meters but i went with a cord for 3 meters. just gives ya more flexibility for mounting ooptions, incase hanging was considered.
That's an extension cord? Power strip cables are usually much thicker, I used a standard PC cable.

The more I thought about it after I already soldered the wires, for a clean look, I will open the next ones I get and unsolder or remove the cut cable and just solder the new cable directly so it gives it a nice finish and no need to worry about exposed wires.
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2012, 05:33 AM   #92
james1542
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
james1542's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WA
Posts: 506
Default

I was just at home depot, they have a 2 pack of a 2 pronged plug kit for 1.50. If the stock cord is long enough and you have a screw driver, you should be able to slap one of these on (they have grounded plugs too).
james1542 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:31 AM   #93
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,691
Default

You'll need a grounded cord for these lamps
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:18 PM   #94
h4n
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (713/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlton, Mass
Posts: 4,910
Default

very interesting thread. I have to try one of these!
h4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:29 PM   #95
jarppi
Newbie
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you HEINEKEN for the chart. It seems that (assuming parabolic distribution of PAR and after some math) if I go with five 10W leds placed 7.2 inches apart I'll end up with 20 PAR on the edges and 40 to 60 PAR in the middle 30 inches of the tank. Of course this is a bit of oversimplification, but I'm going to give it a try. Might also order three 20W floods and try them as well.

Thanks guys for ideas, this seems to be a great forum with helpful people around.
jarppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 02:11 PM   #96
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North NJ
Posts: 660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
You'll need a grounded cord for these lamps
Why is that? the ground cable inside these units don't connect to anything if they came with a wire that has a ground.
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 03:09 PM   #97
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,691
Default

All of my units came with 3 wire harnesses. If anyone wants to skip on the ground, thats up to the individual. I havent personally openned up any of the units but usually the ground is normally wired to the casing no?

In anycase, ymmv. if your cord came with two wires, then use a two prong power cord, otherwise use 3 if it has a ground wire. This should be pretty obvious.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector

Last edited by acitydweller; 12-07-2012 at 03:56 PM.. Reason: lskjfdd
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 03:35 PM   #98
james1542
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
james1542's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WA
Posts: 506
Default

From the pictures the -10W Round flood light-has just 2 wires in the cord, but I'll find out for sure any day now when mine arrives (true all the square ones appear to have 3 wires in the cord). My 30W came with a grounded plug, never opened it up to see whether it's truely wired up to be grounded.
james1542 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:03 PM   #99
mach_six
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North NJ
Posts: 660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
All of my units came with 3 wire harnesses. If anyone wants to skip on the ground, thats up to the individual. I havent personally openned up any of the units but usually the ground is normally wired to the casing no?

In anycase, ymmv. if your cord came with two wires, then use a two prong power cord, otherwise use 3 if it has a ground wire. This should be pretty obvious.
Just wanted to point out that these bare wire units with a ground wire may not actually ground anything.

The one I purchased from LED Wholesalers has ground but inside it's cut short to the wire case and not attached. I opened it up after frying the LED and confirms the comments on Amazon about it.
mach_six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:30 PM   #100
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,691
Default

good looking out... man, what's up with quality control... guess when the stuff is meant for sale over seas, its like the wild west out there and any thing goes...
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:52 PM   #101
HEINEKEN357
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
HEINEKEN357's Avatar
 
PTrader: (16/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: las vegas
Posts: 551
Default

Just finished the 20w led flood par here are both par side by side.

__________________
HEINEKEN357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:14 PM   #102
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,691
Default

Thanks for the par readings Hein... looks like i can run a 20w in my 30g with 18" height.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:33 PM   #103
james1542
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
james1542's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WA
Posts: 506
Default

Excellent data. The intensity does not drop much going 5 inches away probalby due to the wide spread of these. I was looking at a listing for a 100W model and it was rated to light a 50 foot wide area-producing 9000 lumens! Also Interesting how the 20W has about 3X the Par but is only double the watts.
james1542 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:34 AM   #104
james1542
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
james1542's Avatar
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WA
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6Speed View Post
I want to see this one hooked up. Once you get it going could you tell us how the light spread is? I'm looking for something with a tight beam so that it doesn't spill out all over the living room. I also like my tank to have dark edges.

I'm also wondering if the RGB model will allow you to mix the colors to produce white? I'd like to turn my tank blue sometimes.
My new 10W round LED floodlight came today. Compared to my 30W it is tiny, smaller diameter than a pop can. It actually looks.. nice.. The whole thing is an aluminum heat sink. It's sold as a 6000-6500k, and it is very white light. It does cause temporary blindness for about 30 seconds if you look at it so that's good. The deep reflector on it doesn't give the light spill that the square ones do. Also, compared to my 30w, it is no where near as intense, but it would be an awesome light for a small tank, maybe in the 5 gallon range and with it's narrower beam it should be able to cut through the depths a bit better than the other 10W floods. The body does get pretty warm when it's running for a few hours, but I can still keep my hand on it. I have no par meter, but here is the pic! I'm using it on my emersed garden.. paired with a big ugly CFL clamp light... if I had another LED I could throw that out..

james1542 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:19 AM   #105
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (175/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,691
Default

Cute lamp, have you tried the color effects. If you had two of them u can tech icily turn one blue and the other red to convert this into a plant grow out setup. Then revert to whites for your enjoyment.
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012