Was this stupid? AQ 70 for 10 gallon tank
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 10:46 PM   #1
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

Was this stupid? AQ 70 for 10 gallon tank


I bought it because I thought it was cool that the heater could fit in the basket. But I will have to cut my hood for the filter to fit and now I'm wondering if getting the AQ70 was a stupid idea and I should have just gotten the AQ30 that would fit with my hood? (the Marineland LED 10g hood)
Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2012, 11:19 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (401/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,680
Default

If you're comfortable modifying your hood, the AC70 will work fine. You'll just have to turn the flow down a bit.

If you aren't comfortable with it, you could always buy a smaller AquaClear and sell the 70.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:20 AM   #3
OrangeSoda
Algae Grower
 
OrangeSoda's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 121
Default

I am of the opinion that no decision is stupid as long as you have a Dremel, the will to cut and enough patience to plan a nice looking cut.
__________________
________________________________________

N1k0n #58

They asked me to move because I was blocking a fire exit.
If you're flammable and have legs, you are never blocking a fire exit. -Mitch Hedberg
OrangeSoda is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:25 AM   #4
secuono
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
secuono's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/96%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 835
Send a message via AIM to secuono Send a message via Yahoo to secuono
Default

I would do the same thing, get a big filter, modify the hood.
__________________
~Arikun
Plant lady
secuono is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:28 AM   #5
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

I asked my father and he said he could cut the hood no problem, so I'll stick with the 70! Are there any other filter medias I should look into besides the 3 it comes with?
Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:37 AM   #6
kevmo911
Planted Tank Guru
 
kevmo911's Avatar
 
PTrader: (32/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,895
Default

Get rid of the carbon, and replace it with either more bio or mechanical media. I'd go with some filter floss or an extra sponge.
kevmo911 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:43 AM   #7
secuono
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
secuono's Avatar
 
PTrader: (23/96%)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 835
Send a message via AIM to secuono Send a message via Yahoo to secuono
Default

I keep the carbon, but don't keep the bag, it will disintegrate in time making a huge mess.
Doesn't carbon have a high porous surface? So it's good for beneficial bacteria to grow?
__________________
~Arikun
Plant lady
secuono is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 01:12 AM   #8
steven p
Wannabe Guru
 
steven p's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: columbus, ne
Posts: 1,494
Default

Polyfill is the shiznit of the filter media world, if your filters accomidate it. $3 a year for media...
__________________
steven p is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 01:39 AM   #9
Knox_legend
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Knoxvegas
Posts: 36
Default

More water volume in a small tank is a good thing. I used to run a AC 70 in a small 5 gallon reef. If your worried about flow put the AC 30 or 20 impeller in the 70.
Knox_legend is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 01:45 AM   #10
Wayne Dwops
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (4/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: san jose
Posts: 214
Default

Wow conflicting ideas. Why is the carbon no good? I want to try the bio pellets just to see what happens but i can already see they are going to be a hassle. Anyway, my AQ70 came today and where do i put the Hydor ThEO heater! Do I have to cut the sponge to get it to fit?
Wayne Dwops is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012