Which Aquaclear to get. - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 05:15 PM   #16
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

How long do you think it will take to cycle the new filter.

I want to turn the aqueon into a chemical filter.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2012, 12:05 AM   #17
rrastro
Planted Member
 
rrastro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 276
Default

Lots of variables there. Are you going to use seeded filter materials to get things going faster? What is your intended use for the tank: planted, fish, shrimp, combo? Are you doing fishless cycle w/ ammonia?
__________________
Easing my toes in the water
SFBAAPS Member
rrastro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:03 AM   #18
zzrguy
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
zzrguy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI NY
Posts: 555
Default

It a combo it been up and running around three months. This is a additional filter.
__________________
I don't know where I'm going but I'm on my way.

29gal
zzrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:12 AM   #19
rrastro
Planted Member
 
rrastro's Avatar
 
PTrader: (1/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: El Cerrito, CA
Posts: 276
Default

The closer contact you get with a previously cycled seed sponge the faster it will get the new filter ready. I would take the sponge out of the existing filter and place it below the new sponge in the AC50. That way there is direct contact and flow between the existing bacteria and its new home. If you want you could take the carbon from the new filter and swap it in place of the old sponge from the old filter to take up space, but otherwise carbon is fairly useless. It's still going to take time to get the new filter up to speed on its own but this will help. I'm guessing you're still looking at a week or two before it's ready.
__________________
Easing my toes in the water
SFBAAPS Member
rrastro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012