Plants dying, concerned with lighting. - Page 2
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 11:02 PM   #16
CandleMaker
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 48
Default

And are all fixtures compatible with all bulbs pending on size obviously? I was wondering if its even possible to switch the bulb out on the fixture that I have.

This is what I have

http://www.kensfish.com/moreinfo/dee...fw-24inch.html
CandleMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2012, 12:57 PM   #17
micheljq
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
micheljq's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 532
Default

You mean remove one bulb and put it on the other socket? of course you can.
__________________
Newbie with plants, Quebec.
micheljq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:26 PM   #18
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

As far as I know regular T5 bulbs have the same connector but you do need to get the same watt bulb, an HO bulb won't work properly with your ballast.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 09:29 PM   #19
CandleMaker
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks a lot guys I found exactly what I need.

I just picked up a 75 gallon tank which I will get up and running soon. I am definitely going to have many more questions very soon.
CandleMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 09:53 PM   #20
dski13
Algae Grower
 
dski13's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 70
Default

I just bought the same light and I found that they included the wrong bulb in the fixture. The freshwater version of the Solarmax HE Double T5lighting was supposed to have a 10,000K bulb and a 6,700 K bulb. The box says 10,000K and 6,700 K but the bulbs say different. I just got my light Wednesday so I am trying to get the company to send me the right bulb. You may want to look into it and see if you were supposed to get a 6,700K bulb too. I ordered mine from Kens Fish as well. I have left a message with them but have not heard back yet. You can change the bulbs in this fixture you just need to buy a T5NO bulb and instructions were included in the bag witht he metal feet things.

Also I measured PAR in my 20 Gallon High tank with glass cover (with the 10,000K and Actinic 3 bulb) and I would say the light is medium-low at the substrate. I found par measurements to be around 30-40 micro mol photons per m2 per s at the bottom and up to 120 at the surface right under the lamp. From what I read on this forum this would be med light at the substrate level.
dski13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 10:01 PM   #21
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

I bet Hoppy would love that information, while that same fixture is represented on the graph more data is always a good thing.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:04 PM   #22
CandleMaker
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dski13 View Post
I just bought the same light and I found that they included the wrong bulb in the fixture. The freshwater version of the Solarmax HE Double T5lighting was supposed to have a 10,000K bulb and a 6,700 K bulb. The box says 10,000K and 6,700 K but the bulbs say different. I just got my light Wednesday so I am trying to get the company to send me the right bulb. You may want to look into it and see if you were supposed to get a 6,700K bulb too. I ordered mine from Kens Fish as well. I have left a message with them but have not heard back yet. You can change the bulbs in this fixture you just need to buy a T5NO bulb and instructions were included in the bag witht he metal feet things.

Also I measured PAR in my 20 Gallon High tank with glass cover (with the 10,000K and Actinic 3 bulb) and I would say the light is medium-low at the substrate. I found par measurements to be around 30-40 micro mol photons per m2 per s at the bottom and up to 120 at the surface right under the lamp. From what I read on this forum this would be med light at the substrate level.
Yes I read the same thing on the box. They include the wrong bulb,
CandleMaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012