Akadama, no thanks
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Shrimp & Other Invertebrates


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 07:44 PM   #1
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Akadama, no thanks


I have had problems with my oldest Akadama tank with pH creeping up. I transferred the shrimp out of it 2 mmonths ago, but haven't broke down the tank yet because it was fullof nice moss .

Well last night I tested the pH, and this is without any additives or anything for the last 2 months.

It was 8.6

Well, sorry even my Amazonia tank from 3 years ago still has a ph of 6.8

I was just amazed how fast it went down hill with no changes in water or maintenance
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2012, 07:53 PM   #2
Betta Maniac
Wanabe BKK Herder
 
Betta Maniac's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IHella<3Oakland
Posts: 2,159
Default

Yikes!
__________________
Betta Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,676
Default

Hi Morph,

Out of curiosity, whats the PH/gh/kh of your tap to understand how much buffering was enacted by the Akadama
__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:03 PM   #4
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Ph of my tap is between 6 an 7 and kh is 0, gh is 0 tds is ~20
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:12 PM   #5
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Btw, I do remineralize per my standard, which is to 5 gh. For the longest time the Akadama ducked gh right out of the water, and after about 2 months that effect was no longer noticeable. I'm guessing that the Akadama stores minerals but then rapidly releases them.

All I know is ill never use it again and never suggest it to anyone.

I might try to get some cardinals to live in it though instead of breaking it down tonight.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #6
acitydweller
ओं मणिपद्मे हूं
 
acitydweller's Avatar
 
PTrader: (174/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 7,676
Default

it seems that not only is the old akadama not buffering, its actually charged to adversely raise the parameters beyond tap... coming from 6 and 7 up to 8 is just inconcievable.

__________________
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
acitydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:52 PM   #7
Green_Flash
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (7/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,733
Default

well, it is designed as a terrestrial substrate for bonsai, was never a believer myself.

now I would very much like to try something like BW soil.
Green_Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:58 PM   #8
Hmoobthor
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (12/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 796
Default

wow..that a high ph
__________________
Eheim Pimp Club #506
Hmoobthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:24 AM   #9
dhavoc
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (55/100%)
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HI
Posts: 695
Default

never had any success with it either, nothing i kept in it did well, and buffering varies greatly from bag to bag. i am going to use it for my hydroponic experiment (trying to grow plants in my koi pond filter outflow, where it doesnt matter much what it does as long as it holds together).
dhavoc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:25 AM   #10
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Yeah, I am going to transfer over a few cardinal shrimp to see if they do good in it, now that it's at 8+ pH, haha. I put a heater in last night and I"ve got about 100 cardinals to play with.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:39 AM   #11
idex
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (59/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 463
Default

How old was the akadama?
idex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:44 AM   #12
mordalphus
These pants? are fancy.
 
mordalphus's Avatar
 
PTrader: (272/100%)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,997
Default

Less than a year, and I'm having pH woes in my planted 50 gallon with akadama as well.

I think it's 10 months old. My worries are, I have 3 other tanks I set up a few months ago, and now I have to tear them all down and redo them with a proper soil. Not looking forward to that.
mordalphus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:32 PM   #13
hedge_fund
Planted Tank Guru
 
hedge_fund's Avatar
 
PTrader: (94/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greenwich, CT
Posts: 3,371
Default

Yup, I just set up a new ADA Amazonia tank because my Akadama PH started to rise.
hedge_fund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:51 PM   #14
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (428/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,366
Default

Since it's just clay mined from a general region, Akadama seems extremely (emphasis on the extremely) hit or miss. I've got a tank that's been buffering for about 23 months without issue and one that stopped buffering after less than two months. Same water: RO water with GH5.

I'd definitely never use it for anything other than aesthetic purposes. Stories like Liam's illustrate why it's a huge risk to take.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:49 PM   #15
plamski
Wannabe Guru
 
plamski's Avatar
 
PTrader: (60/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boca Raton,FL
Posts: 1,071
Default

Liam check your PH meter.I almost kill all my shrimps because of failure PH meter.
My Akadama is 6-8 months old and it is buffering to 7ph. I’m adding tennis bal size peat moss per tank and it keep PH 5.6-5.8 for 50-60 days.
When I started the tank substrate discharge GH just a little bit. I have 2 tanks with it one CRS and one CBS
There are 20-50 babies in each. Will see how they will do in future.
plamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012