Can i grow dwarf hairgrass
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > Low Tech Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 02:29 AM   #1
Fishe
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
Default

Can i grow dwarf hairgrass


Hi, i have a well established 29 gallon tank
Eco complete substrate
48 watt t5 ho
Dose flourish exel 1 time a week
No co2

Do you think it will work
Fishe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2012, 03:12 AM   #2
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,867
Default

What specific light do you have? I assume it is a two bulb T5HO light. Some of those would give way too much light for a 29 gallon tank, while a couple would give low medium light, unless they were a few inches above the top of the tank.

You would need to fertilize the tank water and/or the substrate to have much chance of growing any plants. Eco Complete does not contain NPK, the major nutrients plants need.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 11:12 AM   #3
Fishe
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
Default

I have a 30 inch, 2 bulb, nova extreme t5 ho. 1 6500k and 1 10,000k
Raised about 3 inches on legs. I dose flourIsh excel and flourish trace elements
Fishe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 11:20 AM   #4
Rexthecrayfish
Algae Grower
 
Rexthecrayfish's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 25
Default

i have some dwarf hairgrass in my lowtech 5.5gal rcs tank. its not so much spreading but its growing. so i'd say you'd be alright.
__________________
30g community and 5.5g RCS
Check out my tanks:
http://www.youtube.com/user/graysonk...e=results_main
Rexthecrayfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:34 PM   #5
Fishe
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
Default

I can up fertilizing if needed
Fishe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:14 AM   #6
Fishe
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ny
Posts: 49
Default

Bump
Fishe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 04:00 AM   #7
Hoppy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Hoppy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (75/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 18,867
Default

You probably have medium light, so you will need CO2 to keep the plants growing as fast as the light is driving them to grow. That is a desirable situation, where limiting the growth rate by under supplying any nutrient, including CO2, isn't desirable at all - algae often take over when that is the situation.
__________________
Hoppy
Hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012