Sump Down Grade?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 07:42 PM   #1
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

Sump Down Grade?


My current sump is 55 Gal, it does not leave much room under my stand to work on. My arm fits, but not by much. I have about 3.5 inches of room to get my arm in the sump.

I was thinking I should down grade to 30, that would give me a lot more room to work on it.

Mostly the problems I have are the following

Having to change filter socks once a week, they are 7 inch ones so they last about a week, I have 2 that are on the tank.

Once a month when I clean the pump it a nightmare to get out.

I have to take the sump down for a few days (to fix a baffle)anyway wondering if I should down grade, though not sure it worth it to have to fix my plumbing to fit the 30 so on...
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2012, 07:46 PM   #2
NWA-Planted
Planted Tank Guru
 
NWA-Planted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 3,397
Default

Have you run this by the wife...?

Sent from a dark corner in my happy place
__________________
Sump Pimp #8
RAOK Clubber #28
NWA-Planted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:51 PM   #3
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NWA-Planted View Post
Have you run this by the wife...?

Sent from a dark corner in my happy place
hush...

She out of town for a few days..... going to get myself into trouble huh?
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:58 PM   #4
n00dl3
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
PTrader: (91/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 988
Default

A 33 gallon long will give you more space to work with. Same footprint as a 55 except it is 12" tall instead of 17" tall.
n00dl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n00dl3 View Post
A 33 gallon long will give you more space to work with. Same footprint as a 55 except it is 12" tall instead of 17" tall.
So the problem is already have the 30, wife will kill me for sure if I try to buy 33.

The 30 is 36 1/4 x 12 5/8 x 16 3/4

The 55 is 48 1/4 x 12 3/4 x 21

I like having the long tank, but the fact it so tall is a bit of a pain, but maybe at this point I need to just deal with it.
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:38 PM   #6
JoeGREEEN
Planted Member
 
JoeGREEEN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 224
Default

What is the 55 gallon sump under? A huge tank like +150 gallons?

Considering the pita the 55g sump has become, I would swap it with the 30G. sure u lose some water capacity but depending on how you baffle the 30G in comparison to the 55G the diffrenece might now be so great.
JoeGREEEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:24 PM   #7
Kathyy
Planted Tank Guru
 
Kathyy's Avatar
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 3,096
Default

If you could check capacity before making this permanent might be a good thing. I have to pull the standpipe out of the overflow box weekly to net out surfing fish and that is another couple of gallons the sump must hold when pumps are off. Running my 40 gallon breeder is only half full. Lucky for me I am using covers on everything and have very little evaporation. It is really annoying having the sump pump sucking air and nagging you to do either dump more water in or do a water change NOW.

I would want to make the change too. The easier it is to do the maintenance the more likely it will get done.
__________________
Kathyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:45 PM   #8
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

I think 30 is too small that what i had before and always ran dry. Never had problem with 55.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:53 PM   #9
JoeGREEEN
Planted Member
 
JoeGREEEN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_PA View Post
I think 30 is too small that what i had before and always ran dry. Never had problem with 55.

Oh you never had a problem with 55G, ok then It seems like you should stick with it.
JoeGREEEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:54 PM   #10
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

Other than maint is pain only have few inches between top of sump and top of wood on stand.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:22 PM   #11
NWA-Planted
Planted Tank Guru
 
NWA-Planted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 3,397
Default

I run a 20 gallon on my 125 and have to top off every couple days so a 30 is doable... Another option taller stand

Sent from a dark corner in my happy place
__________________
Sump Pimp #8
RAOK Clubber #28
NWA-Planted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:23 PM   #12
JoeGREEEN
Planted Member
 
JoeGREEEN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 224
Default

Jim,

IMO (u prolly not lke this) you should custom build your own or order one.

I have built acrylic sumps before to maxime every inch of space under a display tank. If you are placing enough baffles & bracing you can use cell cast acrylic one size less than the suggested thickness for an acrylic aquarium hieght. You can also build one out of glass yourslef. but this all takes time and $$$.

so maybe if you dont what to go through a custom then my other suggestion is going on criagslist/ebay to see if anyone nearby is selling a 40Long 48"x12x16

per aqueon products info thier 40 Long is 48 x 12 x 167⁄8"
JoeGREEEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:02 AM   #13
Jim_PA
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,108
Default

I think the 40L would be perfect, now where to find one cheap. ha ha
Jim_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:16 AM   #14
NWA-Planted
Planted Tank Guru
 
NWA-Planted's Avatar
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 3,397
Default

Good luck on a 40 long i never could find one!!!

Sent from a dark corner in my happy place
__________________
Sump Pimp #8
RAOK Clubber #28
NWA-Planted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 01:31 AM   #15
JoeGREEEN
Planted Member
 
JoeGREEEN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 224
Default the road is calling YOU Jim...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_PA View Post
I think the 40L would be perfect, now where to find one cheap. ha ha

ha ha

http://detroit.craigslist.org/mcb/for/3423702841.html
JoeGREEEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012