how is liquid CO2 to add to tank?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Fertilizers and Water Parameters


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2012, 12:27 AM   #1
bobc4d
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: b/cs texas
Posts: 55
Default

how is liquid CO2 to add to tank?


I bought some liquid CO2 from PetSmart, is this ok to use in planted tank if I can't use a CO2 tank set up?
bobc4d is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2012, 12:50 AM   #2
chevyguy8893
Planted Member
 
chevyguy8893's Avatar
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hobart, Indiana
Posts: 231
Default

It is okay to use in an aquarium assuming you don't have invertebrates, since some or most are sensitive to it, and you don't have plants that melt because of it (I can't remember them at the moment). Did you buy API CO2 booster or something else?

Last edited by chevyguy8893; 11-25-2012 at 01:01 AM.. Reason: spelling
chevyguy8893 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 02:12 AM   #3
kperera
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (10/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 202
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobc4d View Post
I bought some liquid CO2 from PetSmart, is this ok to use in planted tank if I can't use a CO2 tank set up?
That is really odd; I thought CO2 has no liquid state at pressures below about 5 atm!
kperera is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 05:45 AM   #4
Darkblade48
Moderator
 
Darkblade48's Avatar
 
PTrader: (3/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8,722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobc4d View Post
I bought some liquid CO2 from PetSmart, is this ok to use in planted tank if I can't use a CO2 tank set up?
Yes, using these kinds of products will be fine in the interim. Pressurized CO2 is better, however.

As chevyguy8893 mentioned, some invertebrates and plants are sensitive to these products (Seachem's Excel, API's similar product, Metricide, etc etc).

Quote:
Originally Posted by kperera View Post
That is really odd; I thought CO2 has no liquid state at pressures below about 5 atm!
Hahaha, funny guy
__________________
Anthony

A Primer to Pressurized CO2 and A Primer to Planted Tanks
Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
Darkblade48 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2012, 05:14 PM   #5
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,392
Default

Plants that are sensitive to gluteraldehyde:
Vallisneria
Anacharis
There are probably more.

I use Glut, the same strength as Excel with these plants and they are OK. I am only dosing the maintenance dose, never the loading dose.

Per Excel label:
Dose more after a 40% or greater water change.

I never do that.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 12:08 AM   #6
bobc4d
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: b/cs texas
Posts: 55
Default

sorry for the delay. Yes it is API and I only have java fern and anubius plants, no inverts.
bobc4d is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 10:14 PM   #7
Diana
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Contra Costa CA
Posts: 6,392
Default

Those plants are fine with these products.
Diana is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 01:00 AM   #8
bobc4d
Algae Grower
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: b/cs texas
Posts: 55
Default

thanks Diana
bobc4d is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 01:05 AM   #9
Crob5965
Planted Member
 
Crob5965's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ft Riley
Posts: 163
Default

I never have any issues with using it I had some crawfish before they seemed to be fine but I might have just been lucky
Crob5965 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012