How many tubes of silicone?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > General Planted Tank Forums > General Planted Tank Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 02:38 PM   #1
kamikazi
Planted Tank Guru
 
kamikazi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 2,245
Default

How many tubes of silicone?


I tried to get an a answer in the DIY section without and luck.

I have an older 75 gallon tank I'm considering resealing. If I do I will be using RTV 108 sealant.

How many caulk gun sized tubes would I need for resealing a 75 gallon tank?
kamikazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
BruceF
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Centennial,Co
Posts: 1,313
Default

One!
BruceF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:35 PM   #3
kamikazi
Planted Tank Guru
 
kamikazi's Avatar
 
PTrader: (5/100%)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lincolnton, NC
Posts: 2,245
Default

I'll get two just in case I mess up they aren't expensive. Plus if I don't use it I might need reseal something else in the future or use it for building decor.
kamikazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:52 PM   #4
driftwoodhunter
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (23/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Christiansburg, Va
Posts: 2,756
Default

I can't imagine using only one tube to reseal a tank that size, but I'm a worry-wort - there are numerous youtube videos on tank builds, maybe they can help? In any case I think you did the smart thing by getting two tubes. Besides all your glass joints you will have to run corner beads inside the entire tank.
Good luck, keep us posted!
__________________
The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ta...stand-pic.html
The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=199772
driftwoodhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:02 PM   #5
In.a.Box
Wannabe Guru
 
PTrader: (9/100%)
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 1,116
Default

1 if ur doing small beads.
I use 80% of a tube on a 30g.
Don't be cheap go with bigger beads.
In.a.Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:29 PM   #6
KH2PO4
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 318
Default

I built my 90g with 2 tubes of 10.1 Oz RTV108.
Actually, there was half a tube left.
KH2PO4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:05 PM   #7
AVN
Wannabe Guru
 
AVN's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,083
Default

I built 5 55-65 gallon tanks with 2 tubes. No leaks. No idea why you guys use so much silicone, it's professional strength.
__________________
AVN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:11 PM   #8
xmas_one
Planted Tank Guru
 
xmas_one's Avatar
 
PTrader: (17/100%)
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,255
Default

Using more doesn't make it any stronger. Silicone is extremely weak in shear (that big blobby radius so many think is adding strength), and very strong in tension (the butt or end joints).
xmas_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:58 PM   #9
KH2PO4
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 318
Default

Yes, it could be less but...

Because I'd never built one before. And I wanted it rimless,
with 4 sides embrace the base (ADA & German style), not sitting on it.
The glass sheets I got were a bit off in size (1-1.5 mm).

So I couldn't just make some beads of silicone then putting together the glass sheets.
I had to pre-positioned all the sheets, pre-adjusted them to compensate for the imperfections
and secured them in place. Then I injected silicone into the spaces in between the sheets.
Quite wasteful since most of it was on the masking tapes and removed.
But I was satisfied with the result as the first aquarium I'd ever built.



KH2PO4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:22 AM   #10
DogFish
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (33/100%)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Gone
Posts: 5,991
Default

I got into the 2nd tube when I built my 42Rimless. But, being my 1st attempt I could have been more precise with my Silicon skills.

Buy, two to be safe.
DogFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012