RO system installation - cold water knob?
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 02:34 AM   #1
ElBoltonero
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Phillyish, PA
Posts: 219
Default

RO system installation - cold water knob?


I live in an apartment and don't have a place to hook up an RO unit correctly; there's nowhere to put the faucet without drilling, etc. Obviously I don't want to drill any holes in the sink. I was wondering if I would be able to hook it up to my bathroom sink so that the cold water input ran directly into the RO unit instead of having a T hookup and then the output from the RO unit going directly into the cold water knob on the sink instead of its own faucet.

So, basically

cold water line → RO unit → cold water knob on the sink

instead of

cold water line ┬ cold water knob on the sink
. . . . . . . . . . |
. . . . . . . . . . └ RO unit → faucet, tub, etc.
(periods because it'll strip the spaces otherwise)

Is this possible/advisable? Thanks in advance.
ElBoltonero is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2012, 03:24 PM   #2
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,498
Default

Why not get a $5 adapter that just screws on to the bathroom faucet?

It's got a little lever you turn when you want to use the filter.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:05 PM   #3
msawdey
Wannabe Guru
 
msawdey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,007
Default

Ya.. shocked is on track here with this. I have been an apt dweller for years myself and have had the same problem. After using a counter top RO system for about a year, i finally got fed up and switched my tanks back to tap water

but you can get adapters for most systems
__________________
msawdey
-Just another day in paradise-

Last edited by msawdey; 11-21-2012 at 07:05 PM.. Reason: misspell
msawdey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:41 PM   #4
ElBoltonero
Planted Member
 
PTrader: (6/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Phillyish, PA
Posts: 219
Default

Because I'd like to install a tank with it so I don't have to worry about filling a container. I will forget it. Plus it'd be nice to have for drinking water, too.

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2
ElBoltonero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:52 PM   #5
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (435/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,498
Default

Depending upon the filter system you've got, it may not be enjoyable as drinking water. That's something you'll want to consider.

Being in a rental, you'll also want to check with your landlord or management company before altering plumbing. That's why I suggested a faucet adapter. It's not much of a hassle to fill a container when you need it - just set a timer to go off to remind you to shut the water off. It's something you'd always want to monitor, anyway so nothing goes awry.
somewhatshocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012