I bought a used ph monitor.....
Planted Tank Forums
Your Tanks Image Hosting *Tank Tracker * Plant Profiles Fish Profiles Planted Tank Guide Photo Gallery Articles

Go Back   The Planted Tank Forum > Specific Aspects of a Planted Tank > Equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 01:07 PM   #1
Drewsplantednutz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Drewsplantednutz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MASS
Posts: 350
Default

I bought a used ph monitor.....


So I bit the bullet and bought a ph monitor. I was just sick of using that dropper. I did my research for a while and wanted a controller not a monitor but I dont have a co2 system and wasnt sure if I would get one. So I was torn between a milwaukee controller or the american marine ph monitor. So I bid on a used monitor for $52 and got it. Of coarse the description said the probe was recently replaced and what not. But when it arrived the probe had no cap on the tip to keep it moist and it is reading about 1.00 ph lower then my tank and tap are. So my question is, obviously it needs to be calibrated, but if it came dry then is the prbe no good now? And if I do buy a new probe should I buy one from hong kong for $18 or US for $35? I just think anything from hong kong is going to be sketchy but everything now a days comes from china.......
Drewsplantednutz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2012, 01:31 PM   #2
BBradbury
Wannabe Guru
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,331
Default pH Importance

Hello Drew...

Are you keeping and breeding rare fish? Because if you aren't, then you don't need to fret over the acidity or alkalinity of your tap water. The vast majority of aquarium fish will adapt to the vast majority of public water supplies. Our fish will thrive in a pH between 6 - 8.5 as long as the level is stable.

Just treat the tap water and remove the ammonia, chlorine and chloramine and don't get creative in an attempt to change the water pH and your fish will adapt. They've been doing this since the hobby started.

Just a couple of thougths.

B
__________________
"Aquarium (Water Building) Keeper"
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 01:45 PM   #3
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (403/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,710
Default

Since you have it and plan to use it, then try calibrating it.

If it doesn't work, then definitely get a new probe. Ordering from Hong Kong would be the way to go unless you're trying to support a local shop or something.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 01:45 PM   #4
GMYukonon24s
Planted Tank Guru
 
PTrader: (0/0%)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 3,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello Drew...

Are you keeping and breeding rare fish? Because if you aren't, then you don't need to fret over the acidity or alkalinity of your tap water. The vast majority of aquarium fish will adapt to the vast majority of public water supplies. Our fish will thrive in a pH between 6 - 8.5 as long as the level is stable.

Just treat the tap water and remove the ammonia, chlorine and chloramine and don't get creative in an attempt to change the water pH and your fish will adapt. They've been doing this since the hobby started.

Just a couple of thougths.

B

I agree
__________________
110g Tropical Community & Sakura Shrimp
55g BN Breeding Grounds, Peacock Gudgeons, Panda, Pygmies, & Smudge Spot Cories, Rili Shrimp
10g RCS and show guppies

MIAPG - Come join us - Plantedtank - MI - Greatlakesaquaria
GMYukonon24s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 05:07 PM   #5
Drewsplantednutz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Drewsplantednutz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MASS
Posts: 350
Default

thanks guys. I am keeping dwarf shrimp, and planning on getting more sensitve ones like crystal red shrimp that need around 6.5ph pretty stable.
Drewsplantednutz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 05:30 PM   #6
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (403/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,710
Default

What are the parameters of your tap water?

KH/GH/TDS?

That will determine whether or not you can keep Crystals unless you use RO/DI and remineralize.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 06:43 PM   #7
Drewsplantednutz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Drewsplantednutz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MASS
Posts: 350
Default

Ph in tank is about 7.2, GH 6-7, KH 2-3, TDS 380. All a little high for crs.
My tap is 7.8, GH 5-6, KH 2-3, TDS 220.
i cant seem to get the KH and TDS down. I dont want to do an RO system but was thinking of getting the tap water filter. If I do that would I just mix like half tap with half filtered or whatever will get my levels down?
Drewsplantednutz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 08:05 PM   #8
msawdey
Planted Tank Enthusiast
 
msawdey's Avatar
 
PTrader: (2/100%)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 983
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewsplantednutz View Post
Ph in tank is about 7.2, GH 6-7, KH 2-3, TDS 380. All a little high for crs.
My tap is 7.8, GH 5-6, KH 2-3, TDS 220.
i cant seem to get the KH and TDS down. I dont want to do an RO system but was thinking of getting the tap water filter. If I do that would I just mix like half tap with half filtered or whatever will get my levels down?
A tap water filter is not going to change TDS or pH to the degree that you want. As hoppy stated in my post about my under sink filter, for that to happen you need a slow moving filtration system like what is found in RO systems. An idea to get around RO may be to use a Brita pitcher filter as they use gravity and the weight of the water to push water through the filter and into the pitcher.
__________________
msawdey
-Just another day in paradise-
msawdey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 08:26 PM   #9
Drewsplantednutz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Drewsplantednutz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MASS
Posts: 350
Default

I think I might try a brita.
Drewsplantednutz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 08:39 PM   #10
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (403/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,710
Default

As mentioned directly above, that won't work.

What you could consider is filtering your water with peat. Use the search function to dig up a few threads about that. It's cheap cheap cheap and could suit you well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewsplantednutz View Post
I think I might try a brita.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2012, 03:19 PM   #11
somewhatshocked
Obsessed? Maybe
 
somewhatshocked's Avatar
 
PTrader: (403/100%)
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,710
Default

P.S. Click here for a great thread about filtering your water with peat.
somewhatshocked is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2012, 10:18 PM   #12
Drewsplantednutz
Planted Tank Obsessed
 
Drewsplantednutz's Avatar
 
PTrader: (14/100%)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MASS
Posts: 350
Default

Nice, Thanks for that thread. I took that idea and just added a bunch on peat into where you add water into the brita pitcher, put a rock on top of the peat to keep it down. Slow drip water over the rock. Im getting awesome results.
Im down to 6.5ph, 3-4 gh, 0-1 kh and 140 tds. Its almost too good of results, I guess I have to let it sit and test it later tho.
Drewsplantednutz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Planted Tank Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Planted Tank LLC 2012